How About Some Inspiration?

Applesauce walnut coffee cake
Image by megan.chromik via Flickr

After yesterday’s very heartfelt, but somewhat discouraging post, I really wanted to post something more upbeat and encouraging. Unfortunately my food choices would not be too encouraging. (We still have a some Starbucks inspired homemade coffee cake in the house. That stuff probably has a thousand calories a slice.)

During the past couple months, I obviously haven’t been posting on my own blog, but I also stopped reading almost all other healthy living blogs. (Roni’s Weigh is the only exception to that. I don’t think I’ve missed a single post of hers since I discovered her four years ago when she was “Weight Watchen.”) I’ve even wanted to read blogs, but they reminded me too much off all the things I wasn’t doing. So I just avoided them. Bad idea, of course.

However, just this evening, I’ve gotten a good taste of what I let myself miss out on. I’ve been going back through my google reader catching up on old posts. (By the way, I have no intention of going back through and read all of the 500 posts there.) Wow, it is really inspiring! There are people out there who are really doing it! The post that most stood out to me this evening was this one: I DID IT! by Dawne at It’s My Time.

I started reading her blog very soon after she started it just over a year ago. At that time her blog was titled “365 Days to a New Me.” To the best of my knowledge, she truly did post every single day of that year. (The title of each post was Day X.) I didn’t read every single post, but I’ve read a majority of them. She’s lost over 80 pounds in the past year! 80 pounds! I struggled to lose 20 in a year. The post I linked to above was her “Year 2 Day 1″ post. It almost made me cry to read it. Her thing is that she just did it, and I love her approach. She didn’t count calories or go on any fancy plan, she just ate sensibly and stopped when she was full. I have to say, I am just so inspired. She’s even talked about many different diets she’s tried in the past, but this time it seems like she just decided she was going to do it and did. And I know from personal experience that to keep up the healthy lifestyle for a full year – that’s NOT easy.

Enhanced by Zemanta
  1. #1 by Karen on September 9, 2010 - 10:04 pm

    The blog world is a great place. For support, wisdom, inspiration, motivation, friendship. When I am not eating well, I have moments of thinking I don’t deserve to be out there, reading and posting. And then I realize it is what keeps me going. I only started reading Dawne’s blog not too long ago and she is amazing!

  2. #2 by biz319 on September 10, 2010 - 1:49 pm

    Thanks for the inspiration! How wonderful she was able to lose 80 pounds – and not on some crazy diet either.

    I am a maintainer – but not at the weight I want, but I guess its better than gaining?!

    Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

