Excuses, anyone?

One huge component of successful weight loss is to stop making excuses. Just stop! Here’s the funny thing. In the moment we make an excuse we never call it that, do we? We usually call it a “reason.” But, really, it’s an excuse.

I cannot tell you how many “reasons” I’ve had in the past to delay weight loss, to give in to eating a sweet treat, or to skip a workout, including:

  • It’s not the right time.
  • Statistics say I’m going to fail anyway.
  • It’s in my genes.
  • I can’t help my slow metabolism. It’s just not fair.
  • I don’t want to deny my husband all the junk food that he loves for me to bake for him.
  • All my friends can eat all that food and they’re not overweight.
  • It’s just too hard.
  • It’s not fair. Everybody else loses weight faster than I do.
  • I have sooo far to go. I’ll never get there.
  • I have company coming. I can’t force my healthy foods on them.
  • I just need a break from all this worrying about exercising and food.
  • I’ll start tomorrow.
  • I already messed up majorly today. Why don’t I just start over with a clean slate tomorrow or next week.
  • I can’t be expected to do well on vacation.
  • My lifestyle includes so many social events and eating at other people’s houses. How can eat well in the midst of all that?
  • I need to clean the house.
  • I have a huge event coming up. I’ll start after that.
  • I can’t find the right plan. How do I sort out all this conflicting information?
  • I need to prioritize x,y, or z above exercise.
  • Eating well is just too expensive.
  • Just this once can’t hurt.

Those reasons all still exist, trust me, but I’m just ignoring them. When it comes to excuses, I think the easiest area to make excuses for is exercise – oh so busy, and oh so little time! I have already acknowledged that there may be a thousand reasons why I shouldn’t, can’t, or just don’t want to do a workout, but I’m just ignoring them. For every good thing we choose to do, there’s thousands of other great things that we are choosing NOT to do, and that’s just the way it is.

The excuses just NEVER end! And I can almost always rationalize my decisions to take the less healthy road. Trying to come with a good answer to each excuse would just be waste of my mental energy and time. There will almost always be some reason NOT to exercise. Today’s excuses may seem urgent, but tomorrow’s excuses would be a little different but no less numerous or compelling. Waiting for the right time is like saying never.

I’m glad I made the decision to work out today. How about you? 

  1. #1 by Aunt Cindy C. on May 3, 2011 - 11:43 pm

    Laura, your mom told me you were blogging again. I am so proud of you. I know that it is tough. I appreciate your determination and drive. You’ll get there. Just keep going!

  2. #2 by Lori on May 4, 2011 - 10:37 am

    I’ve used just about every one of those excuses at one time or another. :(

  1. Whew! That was a CLOSE one! « Journey to Goal

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

