Whew! That was a CLOSE one!

So my day started out in a pretty typical fashion – my alarm ringing and me just wishing it wasn’t time to get up. Oh how I wish I were one of those people who could just leap out of bed energetically in the mornings instead of feeling miserable! But, really, those are a rare breed.

Of course, after hitting the snooze button a couple times, there was absolutely no time to prepare breakfast. So it was the Chick-fil-A drive thru and a piece of string cheese (433 calories):

2011-04-29 0152011-04-18 019

Lunch was a Fit&Active frozen dinner lasagna from Aldi (forgot to take a picture before I ate it) and a Vitatop (380 calories):

016017

The afternoon was really, really dragging so I had a couple snacks. A delicious Milano melt cookie that I couldn’t pass up at Target on my lunch break (70 calories), a light gatorade (40 calories), and a cheese stick (60 cals, not pictured):

015014

This is where things started to go downhill a bit. First the last hour of work drug on like it would NEVER end! Then I get in the car to discover that my $35 car charger for my phone (which is not even 6 months old) won’t work! Plus I’m hungry. So I ate another Vitatop. Only a 100 calories and it has some fiber and protein. Got home and decided to make a big batch of protein pancakes. I’d eat some for dinner with delicious no sugar added apple better (only 20 calories a tablespoon and SOOO good), and then I’d save the rest for my breakfast the rest of the week so I could stop hitting the drive through. I also wanted to go to spin class tonight so I was on a tight schedule. Well, newsflash folks. 45 minutes is NOT long enough to make up a big batch of pancakes and change into your workout clothes. So I had to put the batter in the fridge and finish it after the workout. This was super frustrating because I had something I really, really wanted to get done tonight and wanted to devote the rest of my evening to it. So dinner was 318 calories and 31 grams of protein! Not bad for delicious pancakes!!! (Seriously no one would ever know.)

019018

The spinning workout I did was okay, but not as good as I had remembered. I had not done spinning in several months, so I was nervous, but I really wanted to get back into it. Well, turns out, my leg muscles are SUPER weak so they couldn’t keep up with my heart. Therefore I wasn’t able to push myself as much as I used to. But I still burned 419 calories in 47 minutes and went 15 miles on the spinning bake. Plus just going to the class was a huge step for me!

When I got home things just kept going downhill: internet troubles, another huge technology issue that I wasted 30 minutes trying to fix, and more things that I won’t bother to mention. By the time I finished all that, it was less than an hour from bedtime, I still hadn’t showered, and I had not even started the ONE THING that I had cleared my schedule to accomplish tonight! So frustrating. Besides that, I’m working so hard and the scale is hardly moving!! How can I be expected keep doing all this healthy living stuff?? (Oh yeah, remember my post from yesterday about excuses?? Looks like I’m the one who needs to read that one today.) So, what does a frustrated person do? Um, chocolate, of course!I I quickly grabbed and ate a Milano cookie (70 calories):

015

Since nothing was going right anyway, I told myself I’d just sit down after my shower with a big bowl of ice cream and some of those crushed up Milano cookies on top. (That would really be delicious, wouldn’t it???) Well, guess what???

I talked some sense into myself!! How is 500 calories worth of ice cream and chocolate going to fix any of the problems that I’m having? Is it going to fix my internet? Is it going to fix my car phone charger? Or my other technical problems? Is it going to magically give me more time to accomplish the thing I wanted to today? Um, I think not. And the last thing I need to do is add one MORE thing to feel guilty about and further slow my weight loss.

Whew, that was a close one!!!! And a HUGE moral victory. I didn’t give in! Although it took so much energy that I’m now worn out and off to bed.

Oh, by the way, I might snack on a few green beans bringing my total calories eaten today to 1491, plus 419 calories burned through exercise! Not bad!

  1. #1 by Sandra on May 4, 2011 - 10:06 pm

    I didn’t comment yesterday because you asked how our exercise went for the day.. and I didn’t do any exercise ! Anyway, glad to see you had another moral victory tonight!!!

  2. #2 by Lisa on May 4, 2011 - 10:40 pm

    You did Phenominal!!! WTG with that self control. Especially when the days go cray like your’s. I know I always have a hard time, so WTG!!!!

  3. #3 by Karen@WaistingTime on May 5, 2011 - 8:55 am

    OMG Milanos. Love them. Can’t have them around because I’d go through the bag fast!!!!

  4. #4 by julie cook on May 5, 2011 - 11:29 am

    Yeah for BIG victories!

  5. #5 by Lori on May 5, 2011 - 11:36 am

    I was stressing just reading about your night – that’s how things end up going bad for me!
    Congrats on beating the “go to food mood”…!

  6. #6 by biz319 on May 6, 2011 - 4:26 pm

    Hooray for not giving into the food! I am the same way, the first sign of stress and I reach for something to eat.

    I’ve recently keep telling myself “its not an option” when I want to reach for food – so far I think its working!

    Kudos for getting to spin class too – :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

