The Best Laid Plans of Mice and Men…

…often go awry. Or so they say, and today certainly proved that to be the case! First of all, I sincerely and totally slept straight through my alarm this morning. I have not done that in a long time. It’s just a rude awakening to wake up and realize that it’s an hour later than you were supposed to get up. So of course I leap out of bed and hop to the bathroom. Only to step on the scales and discovered that I gained two pounds overnight! Luckily, I made it through my shower safely. Still mulling over the unexplained two pound gain, I bounded down the stairs to the kitchen to make my usual cheese omelette. Went through the normal routine. (Trust me, I eat this exact thing EVERY SINGLE weekday…I’ve got it down to an art. I lay all the utensils out in just the right spot the night before. It takes 5 mins 26 seconds to make.) Anyhow, I cracked the two eggs into the bowl, stuck the bowl under the faucet, and – OH NO – why wasn’t I paying attention to what I was doing? Instead of barely turning the faucet on to drip about a tablespoon of water into the bowl, I turned it on full blast and it gushed nearly half a cup of water into the bowl. My next mistake was trying to use the mostly-water mixture to make the silly omelette. Take my word on this one, folks, you CANNOT make an omelette out of mostly water. It’ll just boil and never solidify. So I pour the mess out of the skillet and start over again. This time I put in the correct amount of water, but the stupid omelette simply will not flip over. I gave up on the omelette idea, and ate a yogurt and lite applesauce instead. Maybe next time. It just wasn’t meant to be.

Anyway, the rest of the day was okay. I didn’t eat too many calories (1250), but they were mostly from junk. Tomorrow I’m cracking down on the eating thing. I know I have a HUGE challenge food-wise coming up this weekend, but there is no reason why I can’t eat perfectly well Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday. That’s right-even Friday-because we won’t all be eating dinner at Kyle and Katie’s. The study starts at 7:30, and they’ll just be snacks. I didn’t say it would be easy to avoid the snacks and eat well on Friday, but it is possible. Oh, and I worked out today for an hour and 15 mins. Did couch to 5k week two, day one. It went pretty well. Did 6 intervals of 90 seconds of jogging followed by two minutes of walking. I’m worried about the weeks I have to run for long periods of time. Hopefully I’ll work up to it by then.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

