Thursday – more frustration

Okay, so today started out well. I was pleasently surprised when I got on the scale this morning. However, I still have to say that it’s hard not to be impatient with my weight loss. I really want to see results. However, the last 20 pounds that I gained didn’t really make a big difference on me size-wise, so I think it will take a while to see results. The next twenty will make a much more drastic difference. And I’ve only lost 9 lbs. But I so wish I could fit into some more clothes that I have stored away. I just can’t wait! My everyday black dress pants are a little baggy especially in the waist. However, I went to the store and tried on the next size down and they’re a little tight. I’m pretty much right in between sizes.

Anyway, on to the frustrating part. (Believe it or not, that actually wasn’t the frustrating part.) I went with friends to a restaurant called Primanti Brothers tonight, and there were NO healthy menu option. It’s kinda like a diner where everything is cooked in grease. The only thing you can order are sandwiches or fries, and the sandwiches come with fries and coleslaw actually on them. I did the best I could. Ordered a cheese sandwich, no coleslaw, and I scraped ALL the fries off and ate only one. (Thankfully they weren’t all that good. Then I took most of the cheese off. (There was ton’s of it and it was dripping with grease.) I just ate the bread and a little bit of cheese. The frustrating part is that all of my dinner companions at more of that icky stuff than I did, and they are all normal sizes. (One girl is a size 2 and the other maybe an 8 or 10.) And they ate it without feeling guilty. Now, it would not be so bad if I knew that would be my only high calorie food for the week. But it won’t be. I’ll be eating at a friend’s house for lunch AND dinner on Saturday. Lunch will be baked potato soup and rolls. Dinner is Mexican casserole (made with yellow rice, velveeta cheese, higher fat ground beef, and topped with Tortilla chips) and cornbread. There won’t even be veggies to fill up on. I will try to eat small portions. Then to make matters worse, I absolutely love dessert, and there will be cookies and snacks out all day for people to much on. I will be at their house for several hours, and so I will have to be fighting with myself and exercising a lot of willpower all day. When I’m at home, I just don’t even keep sweets in the house to avoid the temptation. I will allow myself one dessert item on Saturday.

Okay, I hope that wasn’t too negative. I’m just feeling frustrated. I’m hoping a good nights sleep will help, and I’ll wake up feeling more motivated and upbeat.

  1. #1 by Tara on October 17, 2008 - 8:50 pm

    Wow– that stinks. I hate when you really have no control. I’m going to the Powell’s for dinner on Sunday– I have no clue what they’ll have, so I’ll just do my best, I suppose, and take my carb/fat blockers with me.

    It sounds like you did okay at the restaurant. Good luck on Saturday. I know that’s exactly the kind of situation that gives you the most trouble.

    However, I’m SUPER impressed at the nine pounds! You said you only lost 9 lbs. total in that first month from a few years ago when we tried the 1000 calorie diet. How long did it take you to lose 9 lbs. this time? Also, I really am amazed at your exercise dedication– good job.

    I’ll try to give you a call tonight if you’re not busy. I have a stamp party, but it shouldn’t last too late.

Leave a Reply

