Chocolate and I Had a HUGE Fight . . .

…And I’m sorry to report that chocolate won. It was really no contest. As you may know, chocolate and sweets are my major weakness. For the past 8 weeks, I have not kept any food whatsoever at my desk at work (and no sweet items at home either for that matter.) I know what happens when I have candy at my desk, so I was smart enough just not to have it there. Well, of course, I’ve been majorly craving chocolate and was feeling a little weaker than usual yesterday. Then my size 2-ish friend asks if I want to go to Target with her for lunch. She proceeded to buy 3 bags of chocolate to keep at her desk, so what do I foolishly do? I buy a bag of hershey’s little miniature candy bars and a bag of mini kit-kats to take to my desk. After all, they were on sale and Miss Size Two kept them at her desk. Believe it or not, I really TRIED to not eat too many today. I really did. And, I know this is hard to believe but I reallly did hold back somewhat. I think had 17 pieces of chocolate, but I’m not certain. It could have been anywhere between 15 and 22. I sort of lost count around 12. When will I learn? I simply CANNOT be around chocolate. At all. Period. It never ends well. Ever. Oh, and needless to say, the rest of that chocolate is now safely in the garbage. Covered in nasty, icky food so I won’t be tempted to retrieve it. To try and look at the bright side of things, my overall calories for the day were still fine. Also, I think I have done well up to this point, which proves that I CAN do it. And, this is what I’m most proud of, I didn’t let the chocolate fiasco derail me at all. I didn’t even say “oh, I’ll start again tomorrow.” I went ahead and did my workout and ate my healthy dinner. My goal now is not to keep dwelling on this mistake. Just move on.

Speaking of a workout, going 4 days without working out was definitely not good for me. The workout was painful. I thought it would never end. But it did. I worked out for a total of an hour and seven minutes. I did couch to 5k week 4 day 1, even though I really didn’t think I would make it. It wasn’t even my cardio system that was bad. It was my legs – actually, my calves were just not liking me at all. I really had to play mind games with myself to get myself to complete the two five-minute jogging segments. But I think it was a HUGE moral victory to complete that.

One more thing that I want to note: Despite yesterday’s eating – more than I’ve eaten in weeks – and huge amount of sodium consumed (4000 mg), and my lack of drinking enough water, the scale was down 1.6 lbs pounds from the day before. Go figure! My weight really fluctuates very drastically from day to day for no apparent reason. However, I’ve accepted that, so it doesn’t really bother me. I just look at the overall trend, not the daily, or even weekly, numbers.

Okay, the menu:

  • Usual cheddar omelette (261)
  • Usual lunchable (340)
  • 17 pieces of chocolate (773)
  • Healthy Choice zesty gumbo soup with cheddar cheese and saltine crackers (417)
  • Total Calories Eaten:1791
  • Calories burned through exercise: -603
  • Net calories: 1188
  1. #1 by followmyweigh on October 31, 2008 - 1:37 am

    hey hope you don’t feel too discouraged about the chocolate episode. that is definitely a bright side that your calories were still in check! even though i feel horrible after consuming a LOT of food at one time, it makes me feel better when i’m still in range. its just easier to stop, rather than if those large amounts of calories were consumed AFTER you already ate your calorie allotment for the day.

    anyway, SUPER SUPER job on the workout – 603 calories!!! jealous of how good it must feel 😉

  2. #2 by Jen on October 31, 2008 - 3:50 am

    I had a battle today with chocolate too. I blame mine on PMS. My husband doesn’t believe that PMS causes cravings. We had a “discussion” about it today. Anyway, after dinner, I was craving brownies soooo bad. So I made some. BUT I somewhat redeemed the situation by making No Pudge ones. I ate like 3 1/2 which made me go way over plan today, but it could have been worse. I could have made the other box that is sitting in my cupboard.
    I guess we have to look at small victories as being victories regardless.

  3. #3 by Tara on November 1, 2008 - 7:22 am

    I am really impressed that you didn’t go further over your calories– way to go. Since you’re really just calorie counting anyhow, it probably didn’t hurt you that much. I was also wondering if you had covered them in anything icky since I can totally picture you salvaging a few from the trash, lol. 🙂 Good girl!

    I managed to stay away from the halloween candy tonight even though I was actually tempted a few times. Candy is not my major weakness, but it smelled (yes, chocolate in wrappers still smells!) really good, and I had to distract myself a couple of times. I still have a bunch left, too, and that’s not good. I’m going to have to devise a plan to stay away from it. Really, though, I think putting it in a ziploc bag and back in the closet will be enough for me– candy is out of sight out of mind for me, so I’ll do that first thing tomorrow.

  4. #4 by Nina on November 3, 2008 - 2:04 pm

    Hi there!

    I really want to congratulate you! Yes, you read right. Well, you ate some chocolate, yes. BUT you were able to consciously throw the rest away. Were you able to do that some time ago? I bet you weren’t. And you were able to stay away from it for a very long time. You did not buy two bags every day, right? Chocolate is my trigger food, too, and I should stay away from it, too. Today about 4oz. of chocolate won against 200+lbs of me, I could not believe it either.

    Don’t beat yourself up so much, old habits are not easy to get rid of, but you are doing very well. And even for Miss Size Two two bags of chocolate are not healthy.

    Love,
    Nina

Leave a Reply

