I had ANOTHER huge fight with chocolate…

… and this time I WON!!! Yes, you read that right. I WON. I emerged victorious with not even a scrape! Take that, you stupid chocolate – you can’t make me fat! Here’s how it happened. First of all, you must understand that I always want chocolate. Always. It’s just a given. So, anyway, I’m innocently walking through Wal-Mart buying all my healthy foods with my new grocery plan and new budget in mind, and the Halloween candy aisle just pops up out of nowhere. And, boy do they have a ton of wonderful, chocolate candy left. And, of course, it’s half off. Wow, a bag of dark chocolate Mounds for a dollar! And a huge bag – and I do mean huge- of Hershey kisses for $2. Oh, and there’s Twix, and M&M’s, and 3 Muskeeters, and Milky Ways galore. And truly at rock bottom (since wal-mart is the cheapest to begin with and then half off on top of that) prices. Now, of course I should not be eating these, but,  you know, if I bought them I could save them to make delicious desserts with when I have guests over. And that would save a lot of money. And so I continued for about 5 minutes. Then I just walked away – no chocoalte in hand!

Back to the Wal-Mart, I recently decided to try a new approach. My goal is to go to Wal-Mart no more than once every two weeks and stock up on heatlhy, ultra-convenient (mostly frozen) foods, even if they are slightly more expensive than preparing something myself. To supplement, I’ll still go to Aldi for eggs, cheese, and canned veggies (mostly green beans), since it’s so much cheaper. Anyway, I think it went really well. I got a lot of food – healthy food that I’m excited to eat and try. Plenty of stuff that takes little to no prep work. I spent $81.76. I got enough food, though, that I think I can make it last three weeks. That’s my goal. $81.76 isn’t too bad for three weeks – I will supplement with a trip to Aldi’s for maybe $10-15 to get eggs, cheese, and some more canned green beans.

I also had a good workout today! It was great because it was realtively intense the whole time and I felt pretty good. And I completed the couch to 5k week 4 workout. And, it wasn’t that hard. . . I could have kept going. It was completely different from my attempt last Saturday. My goal is to do it 3 more times this week, and move on to week 5 next week. I have to say, with the time change, it was completely dark when I got home from work. And it is SO much harder to leave to go workout when it’s dark.

The menu:

  • Bfast: the usual cheddar omelette (261)
  • Lunch: Deluxe chicken and turkey lunchable (340)
  • Snack: 6 rolls of Smarties (150)
  • Dinner: 3 oz rotisserie chicken w/o skin, 3/4 oz of mozz cheese, 1 pita (338)
  • Total Cals eaten:1107
  • Cals burned through exercise: -520
  • Net cals: 587
  1. #1 by Tara on November 4, 2008 - 4:02 am

    wow, I’m impressed. Way to stay strong– tough in the face of a good deal, I know. I’m happy for you about the workout thing, too. Maybe you just had an off day last time. Well, I had best get back to the paper. I hate doing it, but it’s not going to write itself. I think I’m in the wrong major…

  2. #2 by followmyweigh on November 4, 2008 - 5:39 am

    woohoo!! congrats on the battle won 😀 . i love aldi’s! i’m wondering if its a midwest/east coast thing. when i was in the west coast, i never heard of aldi’s.

    great job on the work out! it does stink to have it be dark after work.

Leave a Reply

