Saturday

I did well today. I started the day with a 55 minute workout, and completed week 5, day 4 of the couch to 5k running plan. Next week I’ll move on to week 5.

I did well for lunch out (at Boston Market) and dinner at a friend’s house. They were serving beef, potatoes, rolls, green beans, and rich chocolate mousse for dessert. I think green beans were about the only thing that was actually low calorie! I had a large serving of green beans, a roll, a small serving of potatoes, and only one small bite of beef. Although the beef was good, it wasn’t something I wanted to spend a whole lot of calories on. Instead I ate dessert.

The scale still isn’t budging (up 0.4 pounds today), but I’m trying not to get discouraged. And I’m trying to have faith that it will start moving soon. With my calorie counts, I definitely should be losing some fat, so I’ll just be patient and give the scale time to catch up.

I went shopping today and found some pants that fit me quite well. And it’s so hard to find pants that fit! The Gap Curvy Size 16 were a perfect fit. It’s a long story, but because of a on-line special they were having I came home and ordered the pants on-line. Well, because I’ve the buy one get one half off special and the need to spend over $100 for free shipping, I ended up buying 4 different pair! I bought one khaki, one gray pinstripe, and one dark denim pant. Then, something I almost never due, I bought one size down in the khaki pants, because I know I will fit into them in a few months. Bad part is that I spent $184 and went over my clothing budget for the month. Oh well. I think it’s really important to have clothes that fit. The strange thing, though, is that I hope I don’t get much wear out of these, because I want to be a size smaller soon. As I’m typing this, I’m thinking maybe I should take a couple pair back for that reason. But it’s so hard to know how long a certain size will actually fit. Some pants actually fit for a good 20 or more pounds, plus it’s hard to know how fast my body will actually lose weight.

Anyway, the menu:

  • Powerade (83)
  • Boston Market rotisserie chicken (238)
  • Boston Market conrbread (130)
  • Boston Market sweet corn (170)
  • Two miniature Hershey bars (86)
  • Green beans (20)
  • Rolls (273)
  • Dill potatoes (112)
  • Chocolate Mousse (389)
  • Total cals eaten: 1536
  • Cals burned through exercise: -532
  • Net cals: 1004
  1. #1 by FollowMyWeigh on November 9, 2008 - 4:58 am

    “I definitely should be losing some fat, so I’ll just be patient and give the scale time to catch up.” – nice! you have such a good perspective. keep it and don’t let discouragement overpower it!

    i hear you on the “pants” issue…i’m trying to refrain from buying jeans for a while!

  2. #2 by Christy on November 9, 2008 - 8:40 am

    Hi there. I have considered counting calories like you and Madison do. I even do it on occasion with my Weight Watcher food journal. I think it is awesome that you guys do it the way you do. This is my first time on your blog but I am going to catch up on it and read from the beginning. 🙂

  3. #3 by Debbie on November 9, 2008 - 8:56 am

    Hey I really enjoyed reading your blog….I like the way you do the counting calories instead of pts. It seems to really work for you….Christy is my daughter and had mentioned your site to me…..Im glad I checked it out! Keep up the good work!

  4. #4 by Tara on November 10, 2008 - 4:55 am

    Are you liking the rotisserie chicken? I find that so convenient, and it tastes pretty good, too. Before this diet, I only ate chicken fried, lol. Oh well– hopefully some of these new habits will stick around. I do like that one $5 chicken will last me all week for meals. Boston Market puts coupons in the paper often, too.

  5. #5 by Tara on November 10, 2008 - 4:58 am

    Oh, and I forgot to tell you, off the diet topic– I made $14 at CVS this week, even after you take out taxes and what I spent in cash. Not bad! They’ve got some killer deals if you need body wash and kid’s mouthwash. 🙂

    It’s good to bank up some ecb, though, because I spent most of them last week on diapers (yeah, I know, but I figure it’s good to stock up while the prices are low and when I’m not pressured to have to buy at more expensive prices. Also, if I don’t end up needing them for some reason, then I’ll have a ton of shower gifts already purchased since they don’t expire.)

Leave a Reply

