88 Net Calories – Seriously!?

Well, folks, let me tell you, I definitely DID finally crack down today!!! Now, before you go all “starvation mode” on me, let me tell you that 88 net cals was not necessarily my goal. My goal was to eat only when hungry and have only one fudgesicle as a sweet item today. Anyway, I had a rather slow day overall – ran errands, cleaned the house, watched a movie with a friend, etc. But I got up and worked out first thing this morning. I worked out for an hour and ten mintues – a little longer than usual to try to counteract that dessert I had last night. I was not able to did not complete the 20 minutes of continuous jogging from week 5 of the c25k plan. I did some running, though. Next week I will just repeat week 5 – there is no big hurry. And that really is a big leap from 8 mintues of continuous running to 20 minutes. Anyway, I had no idea that my calories for the day were so low until I sat down to write this. I really wasn’t hungry and felt satisfied. I usually have lower calories on Saturdays because I don’t eat before I workout in the morning, so I basically just start with lunch and only have two meals.

Oh, and by the way, after yesterday’s 2200 cals and 4,000 mg of sodium, my weight this morning was exactly the same as it was yesterday. Hadn’t gone up at all – go figure!

I tried something new today – a pomegranate. When I bought it for $2.50, it seemed expensive. However, there’s tons of the edible part packed in that one pomegranate. I had not ever before eaten pomegranate, but I was inspired by Roni’s Recent Post about Pomegranate. It was kinda fun to experiment with a completely new type of fruit. I’ve never seen anything like it. It was pretty good, although it’s no substitute for chocolate!

The menu:

  • Sam’s Choice Three Cheese & Jalapeno Stuffed Chicken Breast (240)
  • A can of green beans (70)
  • A package of steamed broccoli and carrots with a light sauce (104)
  • Southwest Turkey burger w/ cheddar cheese (207)
  • 1 oz of fresh pomegranate (19)
  • 1 fudgesicle (110)
  • Total cals eaten: 750
  • Cals burned through exercise: -662
  • Net cals: 88
  1. #1 by FollowMyWeigh on November 16, 2008 - 8:35 am

    i love pomegranate, but i always get lazy to eat it -_-. pathetic i know, but thinking about trying not to let it splatter on you and just picking at it…it makes me not pick it up at the grocery store! i should though, as its supposed to be really good particularly for women!

  2. #2 by MizFit on November 16, 2008 - 11:09 am

    I LOOOOOVE ME SOME POMEGRANATE.

    dont be me 🙂
    I literally have a pom.shirt now which I wear when I eat the fruit as Ive stained SO many (and I wont talk about the time I dropped one on our WHITE DINING ROOM CARPET. my bad :))

  3. #3 by Tara on November 17, 2008 - 5:43 am

    It sounds yummy. I’ll try it on maintenance. I can never make it to the end of the video because “the toddler” gets on my nerves. 🙂

    Good job on the 88 calories– wow!!

Leave a Reply

