What a disaster!

I wish I could tell you that my lack of posting for a full week wasn’t a bad sign, but, folks, I’m afraid it really is. I didn’t know Thanksgiving was gonna do such damage for me. First of all, I had a ton of visitors and was way out of routine and was not eating at my house for 5 days. I knew I wouldn’t be able to eat my usual or exercise those days, and I was okay with that. My goal was simply not to gain any weight. Well, I did okay those days, but I think each day got just a little worse than the day before, and so on. Junk food and temptations were EVERYWHERE. Motivation was low. And exercise couldn’t be done. So, Monday morning was time to get back to the real world and the healthy routine. Well, let me tell you, it just kept getting worse. It’s is so much more difficult to avoid chocolate and sweets when you’ve been eating them for four days in a row. Plus it was just a rough day all around – back to the real world, was tired, distracted, etc. Then I let a bad Monday domino into a bad Tuesday, a worse Wednesday, and another bad Thursday (today). And NO workouts. At all. It’s been eight full days since I was at the Y and I fear I’ll have to start back very close to square one with my running – and I had worked SO hard to get up to running 25 minutes! Remember? I want to get this feeling back. Now after reading that you might think I’d gained 500 pounds or something – I’m up a couple pounds, so it’s not the end of the world. I didn’t totally pig out, but I just wasn’t in control at all. Anyway, this week has not been good, in case you didn’t already get that.

If you’ve read this blog much at all, you’ve heard me say that the key to my weight loss is avoiding the all-or-nothing mentality. There is no on-plan or off-plan, on a diet or off a diet – every bite counts, always. There is no starting over on Monday or next month or at the beginning of the new year. The time is always now. Every extra calorie burned through exercise counts – even if I did eat too much chocolate. Eating a donut for breakfast is never a reason to eat another donut for a snack. Eating one piece of chocolate is never a reason to eat another piece. Well, the thing that I’m most dissapointed about in this past week is that I did have the all-or-nothing attitude. I made poor choices just because I had totally fallen of the wagon.

Okay, so the question is what now? Yes, I made mistakes. Yes, I gained a couple pounds. Yes, I wish I could go back and change it, but i can’t. So, I’m going to learn from my mistakes and I’m moving on. In the grand scheme of things one bad week and 2 pounds gain won’t make much difference at all. And I really have learned something – next Thanksgiving I’ll do some things differently so I’m not out of routine for four days. I’m going to start NOW. Yes, on a Thursday evening. So you’ll be hearing from me daily again. Tomorrow I’ll track all my food in CalorieKing and post my menu.

One more thing:

I entered the Mary Lou’s Weigh Platform Giveaway!

Check out Roni’s Weight Loss Blog for more information.

  1. #1 by FollowMyWeigh on December 4, 2008 - 10:17 pm

    I’m so glad you’re “back”!!! I think you have a very good plan. And mindset. No matter how good we might be with not having the “all-or-nothing” mindset sometimes it just creeps up on us! Good job for nipping it in the butt and its okay its extended past thanksgiving. You’re doing great and once you get back on track a little bit, this “slip” will be a fading memory!

  2. #2 by Tara on December 4, 2008 - 11:31 pm

    Good job not waiting till Monday… 🙂 Good luck tomorrow. The first day back is harder, I think, but once you do it for a few days in a row, it starts to feel like normal again. At least, that’s how it’s been working with me. Also, I hope you’re not back at square one with working out. I don’t see how you could be, really. The first few days might be a bit rough, but then it should get better, I’d think. Can’t wait to see how it goes!

  3. #3 by MizFit on December 5, 2008 - 5:57 am

    great job in deciding it all stops now and in not “taking the weekend” as I have been known to do as then, for me, monday never came 🙂

    (well it came but not in the foodexercise way.)

    baby steps. one GREAT DAY at a time.
    you know where I am if you need a hand.

Leave a Reply

