Bake-aholics Anonymous

WARNING: Non diet friendly pictures to follow

So why is it so hard to lose weight? That’s a simple question with a simple answer. They say a picture is worth a thousand words, so I’ll let this speak for itself:

Brownie

Brownie

another pic

another pic

These are “Layered Chocolate Cookie Brownies” from page 85 of the “Chocolate” cookbook by Lisa Yockelson. (Here’s a link to the cookbook on amazon.com.) Honestly, they were definitely good, but not as good as the recipe sounded. The texture was perfect – very soft and fudgy without being soppy or battery. However, the chocolate flavor just wasn’t quite doing it for me…I think it really needed more sugar or something. I coulnd’t quite put my finger on what it was lacking. (I made these this past weekend and put them in the freezer to serve to guests later – well, the ones I didn’t “sample,” that is.)

So, I bake things like this and wonder why it’s so hard to lose weight. I think that begs the next question: if I’m trying to avoid sweets, why torture myself with this stuff? That’s the question I ask myself. Why? Shouldn’t I just avoid this baking altogether…so many temptations: the ingredients, the now-opened bag of mini choc chips that didn’t get used in the recipe, the need to sample the batter at all stages, the aroma, the taste, the need to sample the finished product, eating the crumbs or the broken ones, etc. Well, here’s the problem:

I love to bake.

Yep, there, I’ve said it. I’m a bake-a-holic. Really. I’m a card carrying member of bakeaholics anonymous. And it’s not just the food – it’s the whole process.

Baking is one thing where the fruits of your labor are just so evident – you can take a bunch of ingredients that are nothing by myself and turn them into something completely different. And all in a matter of minutes or hours. I sit at work all day (I’m an engineer) and sit and stare at computer or sit in meetings listening to people passionately “discuss” the same thing they discussed in the meeting last week, but I never see the visible results of my labor. But this – this I can see. I can really create something – not just think about it, analyze it, discuss it, plan it, etc, but really make it happen. Okay, I don’t know if that made sense when I wrote it, but it did in my mind.

The next thing: the smells of bread baking in the oven. It just feels like home. No matter where I am, those smells are just so familiar and comfortable. They make it feel like home – safe, secure, cozy, warm.

And then (you’re really going to think I’m nuts here) there’s the mess – yes, that’s right – the mess. You can’t (or at least I can’t) bake with out making a huge mess. Tons of dirty dishes, flour everywhere, the spilled batter. There’s something fun about making a mess – it’s like being 5 and jumping in the pile of leaves or playing with fingerpaints. And then I get to clean the mess, and there’s something about the transformation of a messy kitchen. It seems so quickly it all goes back in order.

Then there’s the endless variety. I can just sit and read cookbooks – especially the ones with all the pictures. There ‘s never a lack of new recipes to try. Things to be creative with.

And everybody loves it. Who doesn’t love to eat? It’s so universal.

Oh, and did I mention the taste?

Okay, so I just wanted everyone to know that I’m crazy, and there’s a reason this is all so hard.

  1. #1 by Tara on December 10, 2008 - 10:39 pm

    AAAH– I came to see how you’re doing and am confronted with a gooey chocolate brownie that is seriously looking very good right now. At least it’s not a cookie dough brownie because then I would be in trouble.

    What do you plan to do with the leftovers? I can see this being a week long battle if you don’t take action now. That is what has happened with me and crackers…lol.

    As far as my too big clothes, you are welcome to them. I have them starting at a 16– some of them will probably be too big, but some of them should fit you, especially the pants (well, in theory, but if they’re cut differently, then those might not fit right anyway). However, I also have 14s in there, too. I’m wearing a size L top and size 12 (almost down to a 10) pants, so everything bigger than that is in the bags. I have four big trash bags full. If we can figure out a time to meet up over Christmas, I can give them to you. Of course, then you have to figure out how to get the ones you want back on the plane– is luggage an issue? Still, paying for some luggage would be cheaper than paying for all new clothes. Some of them are pretty nice/new, too, since I had to buy new stuff as I “grew.”

    I’d like to get rid of them anyhow so I don’t have anything to get back into. At least, I think that’s a good idea. 🙂 when does your plane get in at Indy again?

  2. #2 by FollowMyWeigh on December 11, 2008 - 1:02 pm

    OHH the “mess.” Haha my mom hated whenever I would bake because of the MESS.
    Maybe you should go to pastry school!!!

  3. #3 by kfishie on December 11, 2008 - 7:47 pm

    I LOVE to bake as well. And for the most part, I would prefer not to have my baked goods tempting me in my house. So, I bake for work, for church, for friends and I take my creations somewhere! Also, I have started using honey instead of sugar and oat flour instead of white flour to beef up the nutritional value!

  4. #4 by kfishie on December 11, 2008 - 7:48 pm

    Hmm, it didn’t link to my blog….well, here it is!

    http://icanbearunner.blogspot.com

    -Running Through Life

  1. A Goal and a Confession « Journey to Goal
  2. I can’t take it… « Journey to Goal

Leave a Reply

