Still Hanging on

Well, another day is over, and I’m still hanging on. But just that – nothing more. Weight is holding steady . . . eating is involving some good and some not so good. Calories are hovering above 1500/day. But I’m still trying. And in the past I would have thrown in the towel, eaten upwards of 2500 cals a day, and gained a good 5-10 pounds before the year was over, so this is progress. It is. But I still need to give myself a little peptalk:

I think I said this a couple days ago, but it’s like I want to have my cake and eat it too. I want to lose weight and be able to have lots of indulgences as well. And that’ won’t happen. I have to be willing to give up something that I want for something even better. Which do I want more? The momentary satisfaction of a few bites of dessert or the lingering satisfaction of knowing I overcame the dessert and that I’m reaching my goals? I mean, really, it should be a no brainer. And the other thing is this: even if when I do give in to the dessert, I still want more. When I’m done with one piece of chocolate, I simply want another. If anything, eating one bite of something only makes it that much easier to say yes to the next bite and so on. The flip-side, though, is that making a good decision makes it that much easier to make another good decision and so on. The domino effect. And I haven’t had much positive momentum lately (my own fault, of course). That’s why I’ve just barely been hanging on. Every chocie I make is a fight instead of using momentum. But every choice, every bite counts. That’s why it’s so important to keep avoiding the chocolate…not only do I save those calories, but I’m making it more likely that my next food decision will be an even better one!

  1. #1 by MizFit on December 13, 2008 - 7:08 am

    hang on hang on this weekend.

    you can do this and, even though weekends can be more difficult, work to keep yourself good busy.
    doing things which energize you in a nonfood way.

    xo xo,

    Miz.

  2. #2 by biz319 on December 13, 2008 - 2:30 pm

    I agree with MizFit. If you concentrate on the people and events this holiday season instead of the food, maybe it will change your focus?

    You can do it! And believe me, I know it isn’t easy!

  3. #3 by Fitness Surfer on December 13, 2008 - 2:44 pm

    I think your doing great! Even just maintaining during the holidays is tough.

    I know where your coming from. This is the first year I haven’t over indulged during the holidays. This year I’ve planned ahead by eating a filling healthy meal before “unhealthy” get together. I even add and extra workout in my week if I’m planning on eating pie, toffee, caramels, homemade fudge…Ok, that’s where I get into trouble. Once I start, I then begin eating mindlessly and before I know it I’ve made myself sick.

    I have to pay closer attention to what I’m putting in my body. I’ll taste test a bunch of things…then toss what ever wasn’t worth the extra workout in the trash…secretively of coarse. =)

Leave a Reply

