A Small Moral Victory

So I got up today and was NOT in the mood to exercise. I don’t know why. I actually had time to do so, and there was no reason not to. I simply was not in the mood. I think the fact that I have not exercised much in the past couple of weeks contributed to my not wanting to go. Honestly the more I exercise, the more I want to exercise. And the less I exercise, the less I want to exercise. It’s the domino effect that I was talking about yesterday. I also think the fact that I haven’t lost weight in the past 3-4 weeks makes exercise less exciting. It’s more motivating to exercise when I think that I’ll soon be in a smaller size – it’s harder to find the motivation when I’m just maintaining. However, I went to the Y anyway. I just had to pretend to be my own mother and force myself to go. Often, once I’m there and start exercising, I get in the mood. But today I didn’t – I had to force myself through the whole workout. But I did get in a good workout. And I think it was good for my mindset that I went and did it.

Eating front was okay today. I had one of those Steamfresh Meals for Two for lunch which was really good – had a lot of chicken in it and these very soft and tasty noodles (but not too many.) I was eating dinner at a friend’s house tonight. They had taco salad – not the most or the least diet friendly thing. I did have some dessert. Didn’t pass up the chocolate.

  1. #1 by FollowMyWeigh on December 13, 2008 - 11:01 pm

    Good job for making yourself go even though you ddin’t feel like it! I’m sure there will be more motivating days ahead, and thats a victory you went even when it wasn’t motivating at all 😀

  2. #2 by Tara on December 13, 2008 - 11:31 pm

    Interesting– we both used the phrase, “moral victory” in our posts today. What exactly is a moral victory anyway? I need to look that one up. If you can get through the holidays without gaining, that’s really something to be proud of. Besides, I’m really impressed with how long you’ve stuck with this, and almost 20 lbs. is really great. I know you lose at a slower pace, and it’s so hard to stick with it when you don’t have as much external motivation (i.e. new clothes/people noticing).

    As far as your flight goes, I may or may not be able to pick you up. The time works for me if I get my stuff done by Friday, but I have to turn in grades, and I’m not sure if she (my coordinator) will be free to meet with me on Friday or if I’ll have to do it on Saturday, in which case I couldn’t pick you up. So, we should call each other and talk about it. I probably won’t know for sure until Thursday, maybe even Friday. If that’s too late notice, then I guess plan on your parents picking you up. Otherwise, I can let you know as soon as I find out. If I can’t pick you up, maybe we could meet somewhere in between during that week…like Scottsburg or something. I’m not sure what’s in between. We could eat lunch somewhere, and I can bring you a bunch of clothes. Anyway, we’ll talk about it.

Leave a Reply

