A Goal and a Confession

To quickly summarize the day, I did okay eating wise. Again, (I’m starting to sound like a broken record, aren’t I?), nothing terrible, nothing great. I have given myself another pep talk…the you have to make sacrifices to win, and which do you want more, etc. And I’m super determined to do the absolute best I can this week. I need a week with an actual loss in order to make it through the holidays.

Anyway, the goal. And I don’t really know why this is such a big announcement. I just want to put it in writing. My goal for this holiday season is officially to maintain. My goal is for my weight on the Monday following the holiday season (Jan 5) to be the same or less than it was the Monday preceding Thanksgiving (11/24). Yes, that’s about 6 weeks of maintaining, but that’s okay. In January I will start losing again. I’m currently 1.6 pounds under where I was before Thanksgiving.  In order to accomplish this goal I will need an actual loss this week, which is doable but there is a long list of challenges that I will face (another work party, dinner at a friend’s house, houseful of guests for dinner, lots too do, little time for exercise, etc). Also, I will need to keep some control during my biggest challenge of the year – being home for 9 days.

Okay, the confession. Do you recall my recent post entitled Bakeaholics Anonymous? Well, besides everything I said there about love being true, there’s something else. I browse foodgawker.com on occassion. And, for some reason I thought you had to be someone really special in order to post a picture on there. Well, come to find out, anyone can submit a photo and it will be posted if they judge the quality to be good enough. So, when I took photos for that baking post, I thought the photo wasn’t all that bad (imho), so I decided to submit the photo to foodgawkers. Well, they rejected it because of “lighting/shadow issues.” Me, not being much of a photographer (although I would love to learn), can’t see the lighting or shadow issues even though they pointed it out. That being said, I have now become determined to take at least one photo in my lifetime worthy of being posted on that website. That ambition in and of itself, although rather silly, is not a terrible thing. However, the great lengths I am going to in order to accomplish that is absolutely ridiculous and rather dangerous to my healthy eating! This morning I actually baked a new brownie recipe for the SOLE purpose of being able to take a picture in the natural sunlight to submit to foodgawkers. Seriously, what is wrong with me!? I was just ferocioiusly determined to take a good picture. Well, I ended up choosing a rather long and complicated brownie recipe that used half the dishes in my kitchen. And the whole process start-to-finish (baking, clean up, picture taking, etc) took nearly two hours – two hours that I could have used to do something that was actually useful. And then, to top it all off, by the time the stupid brownies were actually baked, the sun wasn’t shine as well, and the pictures didn’t turn out well – even worse in my judgment than the last one that foodgawker rejected. And, of course, I sampled the batter and a brownie. And now there are brownies in my house. I plan to freeze them, but if the temptation starts to overcome me, they are going into the trash. The other bad thing is that I probably have $8.00 in them – all that may be in the trash. But that’s okay…I’d definitely being willing to pay $8.00 to save several hundred (maybe thousand) calories, so that’s the way I’ll look at it if it comes down to that. Okay, well I have confessed. Now you all know. The one other thing I should confess is that I had a rather large “sample” of the brownies – and they weren’t even all that wonderful.

  1. #1 by Tara on December 14, 2008 - 11:37 pm

    lol– you’re really funny sometimes. I have clicked on that foodgawker link before, but finding it not so diet friendly, I haven’t gone back.

    As far as getting a picture accepted, you don’t have to bake brownies– something healthier would do just as well, you know? Take some photos over the holidays of the stuff you guys make- that way you won’t have it all there for you alone to eat. If the brownies aren’t even that good, totally don’t bother with them. It’s not worth it– save your calories for some good chocolate. Feed them to your guests this week, but just tell yourself they’re not that good and leave it at that if you can. I’ve never understood making brownies from scratch anyway. I think a good mix is better. Same with most cake mixes, IMO. Now, cookie dough, which has been my latest fixation, is a totally different story (which is why so far I’ve been okay with several unopened packages in my freezer)!

  2. #2 by FollowMyWeigh on December 15, 2008 - 1:13 am

    lol! I love that you are determined to take a good photo for that site, but I bet it is frustrating, especially to essentially have $8 go to waste. BUT yes, I think you’re right, its worth it if its saving tons of calories 🙂 . Good luck on that picture!!!

  3. #3 by MizFit on December 15, 2008 - 6:27 am

    three cheers for your goal to MAINTAIN.

    seriously.

    when I was a trainer that was precisely what Id urge my clients to do…too many set themselves up for failure by wanting to SHED over the holidays (too hard) or set themselves up for NY frustration by completely throwing in the proverbial towel.

Leave a Reply

