Whew! Made it!

Well, I made it through the day okay. I’ve got to say, though, it isn’t easy. For some reason it seems so much more difficult now than it did before the holidays. I think I am just accustomed to eating all the junk that I ate during the holidays. I must confess. I got desperate for chocolate this morning (after going a whole day yesterday without it) that I caved and had some amount of brownies, but it’s hard to say exactly how much. Of course I tasted a lot of the batter and then had a decent sized brownie. I counted it as three brownies, but it well could have been more. However, I moved on, ate well the rest of the day. And I went to the Y and worked out on the elliptical for 53 minutes, burned 517 calories! I get to work from home on Tuesdays, so I was able to go to the Y at 4, and it wasn’t at all crowded yet, which was wonderful. (Normally I have a 45 minute commute to work, so I don’t get back home in time to go the Y before the rush.) I am really hoping to get to the Y tomorrow, but I know that it will be a struggle. The high tomorrow is 8 degrees, so I really will not want to go back out into the cold! Plus I have so much to do here at home. The house is still a wreck! It seems that I just haven’t been able to get it completely straightened in a while. And I also am anxious to get files transferred from my old computer to my new computer, so I don’t have the hassle of trying to use both computers. Here’s the menu for today:

  • Omelet with cheddar cheese (261)
  • About 3 brownies (600)
  • About a cup of cornflakes (100)
  • Lean Cuisine Sweet and Sour Chicken (300)
  • Green Giant Garden Vegetable Medley (100)
  • Total cals eaten: 1362
  • Cals burned through exercise: -515
  • Net cals: 847
  1. #1 by FollowMyWeigh on January 13, 2009 - 11:26 pm

    oh wow great job “moving on” from the brownie episode! i agree, somehow it is harder these days (post holidays) than before the holidays!

  2. #2 by Tara on January 13, 2009 - 11:32 pm

    Now I’m caught up on your blog…why were you making brownies? The batter usually gets me, too– nothing quite like it. OK, I’ll stop thinking about that now.

    That’s great about your workouts. I am impressed with your ability to stick with it this time. It seems like you keep working out whether or not you have a good eating day, which is great. For me, if I’ve eaten poorly, I tend to want to skip a workout, but in “real life” or on maintenance, that’s exactly the time you need to go to the gym, so good for you.

    I’m going to start reading daily again, so hope hear about tomorrow– good luck fighting the chocolate demons!

  3. #3 by Fitness Surfer on January 14, 2009 - 7:28 pm

    You just reminded me that the neighbors brought over a mint truffle brownie mix from a local bakery. If I can decide who to give some of them to, then I can make them up. I know…my nieces. They just had birthdays and I still need to bring them presents. Fresh brownies it is =) Then I can enjoy a small taste myself, but not eat the whole pan…which I totally use to do.

    Way to go on the elliptical. I do 60 min two times a week, and rarely burn 400. Wow!

  4. #4 by Charlie Hills on January 16, 2009 - 12:28 am

    That whole “it’s harder now than before the holidays” thing I just talked about today on my blog. Check out the “Two Weeks In” post.

  5. #5 by Tara on January 18, 2009 - 10:39 pm

    Laura, where are you??

Leave a Reply

