Oh, the Joys of Being, uh…

…shall we say “overweight”?

I think I need to vent just a little. Better to vent to you blog readers who are interested in these topics than some innocent friend who knows nothing of the struggles of being overweight and attempting to lose said weight.

So, first thing I need to vent about is this. I have (as you can see from yesterday’s post) really been struggling with this, and I’m getting on track again. It isn’t easy. But just as I’m doing that, this weekend poses one of a “dieter’s” (I use that term loosely) biggest nightmares. I’m leaving directly from work on Friday and am traveling some distance to a friend’s house for the weekend. I’ll be there for a full three days (coming back Sunday night) and they will be providing all the food. And their family is all perfectly skinny (while eating what they want), so the food won’t be particularly heatlhy. Surviving without a gain will be an accomplishment. If it’s one meal, I can handle eat. But meals for three days – that’s another story. And the weekend is all planned it to the minute so there is no time for exercise. What’s a girl to do? I wouldn’t mind so much if it weren’t for the fact that I’m just now getting on track. I don’t expect anyone to have a solution … it’s part of life, but I just needed to vent. To be honest, sometimes I struggle with not being jealous of those who can’t eat what they would like and never struggle with their weight.

Okay, while I’m venting, here’s the next thing. The next weekend I have a ski trip planned. A group of us will be going skiing at a place nearby on Saturday. Now, I love to ski, and, although I’m not even the least bit athletic, I do okay at it – only due to years of practice. Except for last winter, I’ve been skiing one or more times each winter. I have my own skis. Well, here’s the problem. I have never been skiing when I was this fat. The last time Iwent skiing I weighed a good 20-25 pounds less than I do now. So what’s the big deal about that? My calves have enough extra fat on them that my ski boots will NOT fit. Yep, they won’t fit. I can’t wear my own skis!! How horrificly embarrassing is that?? Also my ski coat is so tight that I cannot put anything besides a thin long sleeve t-shirt under it. I can’t fit a sweatshirt or a sweater, meaning I will be cold. Also, I have no skipants that fit. That means one of three things:

  1. I’ll have to announce to everyone that I am too fat for my ski boots and therefore will not be skiing. Obviously that option is quite embarrassing.
  2. I’ll have to come up with some other excuse not to ski. I obviously wouldn’t get to ski, but I could possibly avoid so much embarrassment.
  3. I’ll have to rent skis for $30-40 extra dollars (I think the rental skis would fit) and either let ppl know why when they naturally why a girl who owns her own skis is choosing to pay $30 to rent some. Or I could possibly figure out some scenario to avoid that. Like maybe finding someone who wants to borrow my skis or something.

Anyway, quite frustrating.

Okay, here’s today’s menu:

Food Diary for Jan 20

Food Diary for Jan 20

  1. #1 by Sharon on January 20, 2009 - 10:51 pm

    I hope everything turns out in the end with the skiing!

  2. #2 by Tara on January 22, 2009 - 12:06 am

    You could “accidentally” forget your skis at home…and just say you “left” them. No one would question that, and it would be perfectly the truth. However, this does not solve the ski pants problem…so I think you’ll just have to buy some. Can’t help you out there.

    However, I feel your pain– been in situations like that myself. Let me know how it goes. I wouldn’t sit out on skiing, though– you love it, and it’s exercise, and you shouldn’t punish yourself for being fat. You’re still worthy of enjoying your life, so don’t miss out on it just because you feel fat.

Leave a Reply

