I think my scale must be broken!

My day actually went super well, and in looking back on my eating/exercise I think today was pretty much perfect. Not a lot I would have changed – except maybe one less sugar free pudding. And this is the fourth day in a row! (not that i did that well the previous 3 days – just that it’s the fourth day of being “on track.” That’s the biggest roll I’ve been on since January, but more about that later.) I worked out for 61 minutes on the elliptical. Got a pretty good workout in, as in I was actually sweating and out of breath by the end. Burned 600 cals according to my Heart rate monitor.

Okay, so on to my scale. I’ve always heard about people (in fact, maybe most people) who lose a whole lot of weight (like 5+ pounds) in their first week on a “diet.” I have never ever once in all my many years of various diets done that. The most I think I’ve lost in a first week was close to 3 pounds. Now, this isn’t exactly my first week on a diet, but it truly is the first few days in a row that I’ve stuck with my eating plan since before Christmas. Anyway, all that to say that I weigh daily, I consider Monday my official weigh-in day, and I am down 5.2 pounds since Monday – more than a pound a day. Is it just a fluke? Are my scale batteries dying!? I don’t know. I’m anxious to see what my official weight is next Monday. I actually think, though, that a lot can be attributed to some natural fluctuations. Still, if this weight stays off until Monday, this will be unpredecedented for me!

Here’s what I ate today. By the way, my current philosophy is that I am not food journaling per se nor I am counting anything (cals, carbs, whatever) per se. However, I am still using calories as my major guideline and trying to focus on more lean meats and protein and fewer carb-y things. Some days I will journal if I feel like it – other days I won’t. And that’s okay. The key is for me to be creating habits of eating healthfully. If this doesn’t work, I can, of course, always go back to counting faithfully. But I think this is really the ideal approach if I will truly keep my heart in it. Okay, the menu:

  • Breakfast: Egg & Cheese Biscuit from Burger King – these cals are a high estimate – they don’t actually have that on their menu (400)
  • Lunch: 4 oz. of roasted chicken (200)
  • Dinner: 2 Southwest Turkey Burgers with about 2 oz of cheddar cheese – I was legitimately very hungry after my workout so I had two (500)
  • Snacks: 3 SF puddings (180), 2 SF jellos (20), and Yoplait light yogurt (100)
  • Total cals eaten: 1400
  • Cals burned through exercise: -600
  • Net cals: 800
  1. #1 by Tara on February 6, 2009 - 1:42 am

    Great job! I think this sounds like a good plan for you. I wouldn’t worry about the pudding as long as you had room for it. Still, I know what you mean. I almost ate two tonight as well, but I kept it at one. They’re pretty good- much better than I remember. Maybe it’s because I’ve not been eating sugar or something.

    I don’t have a heart rate monitor. I would be curious to see what it would tell me as far as calories burned go. I don’t think I’d want to deal with wearing it, though because isn’t it rather big? Besides, I don’t really think it would change what I do. I know you’re very particular in knowing calories in vs. out, but I just don’t think I’d want to have it strapped to me. Does it bother you to wear it?

Leave a Reply

