What a Day!

I think I last blogged on Thursday. Friday went pretty well. I was able to squeeze in a workout (for 50 mins) even though I didn’t really have time. I ate very well, including fighting off incredible urges to hit the vending machine at work, until Friday night when I went over to a friend’s house to play games. They had a ton of food – cookies, Boston creme pie, chips, etc. And the food was right next to where we were. It is so hard to look at without giving in and munching. I ate two small-ish choc chip cookies, a very small piece of boston creme pie, and about 5 or so tortilla chips. I didn’t think that was too bad considering how long I was there with the food, and how much chocolate I wanted to eat! I think in some ways situations like that are more difficult when I’ve been eating well for a while and haven’t had that stuff.

Yesterday (Saturday) was quite a day. I won’t bore you with excessive details, but it did not go as planned at all. To start the day, I took my car for its annual inspection. My mom (who’s visiting from out of town for a few days) dropped me off at the car place and the plan was that she would drop me off at the Y after that. Well, I didn’t have all the papers I needed, it took forever to acquire them, and so by the time that was all done it was nearly 11am! (And we dropped the car off at 8:30am.) I was a bit frustrated and was not at all in the mood to work out. Plus my day was already more gone that I wanted it to be. But I went ahead and worked out because I knew I was eating a high calorie dinner and I really wanted to make my goal of working out four times/week. Also, I attempted to have someone change the battery in my HRM (heart rate monitor), but it was completely dead. Anyway, the workout was okay. I did the elliptical for 40 mins, but my heart wasn’t in it. It was like I was just forcing myself the whole time. After that I got home and my washing machine broke and flooded my entire laundry room and little bit into the carpet in the kitchen. It was a big pain and I was storing a lot of things on the floor in the laundry room that got wet. In the end, nothing but a few empty boxes that I was keeping for when I move again, got ruined, it was just a big pain to clean up. The maintenance guy (one of the perks of renting – on call maintenance) said he thought the washing machine was forty years old and the old cast-iron tub had just rusted out. They will bring another washer tomorrow.

On to today (Sunday). It was a much calmer day, and I have done well eating wise. But I must confess I am really, really in want of some chocolate, and I’m out of sugar free pudding!

  1. #1 by Hotch Potchery on February 16, 2009 - 10:39 am

    Congrats on your being the 2nd biggest loser last week. Sorry for your Saturday, that sounds HORRENDOUS.

  2. #2 by Amy on February 16, 2009 - 10:42 am

    That’s not so bad on the game night! You practiced restraint!

    Sorry about all the weekend craziness. We’ve had two floods in our house… it is a pain.

  3. #3 by Fitness Surfer on February 16, 2009 - 5:34 pm

    Both of our cars are due for inspection this year. Luckily one is this month and the other is in Dec. I’m a little nervous of the one for this month. The check engine light keeps cumming on and no one can seem to fix it. Let’s just hope it passes or we can at least fix it =)

  4. #4 by Tara on February 16, 2009 - 10:49 pm

    Wow– you did better than I would have done with the food. I can definitely sympathize with being on a diet for a while and wanting the old stuff all the more. I think you did very well considering the situation. I’m also excited for you in how much you’re losing!

    Way to go!

Leave a Reply

