A Good Monday

I’m happy to report that I started the week with great weigh-in and a good eating day. The menu was a little unusual but I avoided all snacks and had only one piece of candy as far as sweets.

I also had two moral victories! First, I made arrangements to workout even though I didn’t have time. I had plans to go to a Bible study with a friend, which we do almost every Monday, and we always eat dinner together beforehand. This gives absolutely no time to workout. My friend usually arrives at my house for dinner (yes, that’s one thing I’ve done well – having him come over and me cooking something really simple but healthy instead of eating out – saving both calories and money) just after I get home from work. Well I told him that I wanted him to just pick up at 6:15 in time to go to the Bible study and not eat together beforehand, because I wanted time to workout! Well, as it turned out, I got stuck in a meeting at work, so I did not have enough time to work out anyway. However, I’m happy that I took that step to arrange the time to workout and set that precedent. Next Monday I will do the same thing and will probably actually be able to accomplish it. For some reason I have this huge fear of rearranging plans (or saying “no” to something) with anyone because I need to go the Y to workout. It’s like I’m afraid they’ll think I’m some sort of obsessive workout fanatic or something – although they can probably clearly tell by looking at me that that’s not the case.

The second moral victory: occasionally we’ll stop by a restaurant after the Bible study for some dessert (usually hot fudge cake – mmmm!), and I said no! I just said no. That’s about the first time I’ve turned down an offer for hot fudge cake – usually I wold rationalize it in some manner.

The menu for the day:

  • Two Southwest turkey burgers w/ about 1.25 oz of cheddar cheese (440)
  • One piece of Nips caramel candy (30)
  • A Turkey and Cheddar lunchable (340)
  • Cheese omelet (250)
  • Half a package of frozen Green Giant Garden Vegetable Medley (50)
  • Some green beans (50)
  • Total cals eaten: 1160
  1. #1 by Fitness Surfer on February 17, 2009 - 3:56 pm

    I’m the same way. I hate calling and canceling on someone, even if I’m sick. Some people totally get it, but somehow it’s still hard. I love a nice peaceful schedule but i also live for the spontaneous fun stuff now and then.

  2. #2 by Kristina on February 17, 2009 - 6:53 pm

    Hurray for moral victories, and I agree that it’s a huge deal that you made the plans to work out even though traffic ruined it for you.
    Grats for keeping on track and making good choices!

    Cake is always tempting. I’m proud.

Leave a Reply

