Starting to Get a Little Discouraged

Well, today was okay, but not great. I didn’t do anything really stupid (like eat a whole pan of brownies) or anything, but I didn’t do anything great either. I wasn’t feeling too motivated – mostly because the scale just isn’t budging. It was actually up 0.8 from last Monday’s weigh-in and I’m feeling pretty sure that tomorrows weigh-in will show an official gain. (Even though it can’t be a true gain, because I have been on track this week – the brownie incident definitely did not set back far enough to have a gain or anything – it couldn’t have been more that 1500-2000 calories and that’s a high estimate. I had a far greater deficit than that for the week.) Also, I tried on a shirt that I really thought would fit, but it basically didn’t. It was a size 16 button up, relatively fitted, not stretchy at all dress shirt from Gap. I put it on and looked in the mirror and it was perfectly fine. So I wore it to church. Come to find out (as I’m sitting in church) it is horrific when I sit down, because, of course, my middle gets bigger when I sit down. I mean the buttons are just stretched and one of them even popped open at one point. It was bad. That was discouraging. Then I went to a friend’s house for dinner, and of course the pork, sweet corn, oh-so-delicious dinner rolls, and brownies were not all that diet-friendly. I didn’t pass up the roll or the brownie (I did only have one, though, when I really wanted at least two of each) – if I had been super motivated and completely on my game I would have skipped the roll and the brownie. Oh well. I am going to try so hard to really, really do well tomorrow and I’m going to try to work up some more motivation. I get so frustrated at how slowly I lose. I am also starting to worry about this weekend when I’m going out of town to a friend’s house whether the food is 100 percent out of my control, and I’m sure it won’t be diet-friendly. The good part is, though, that it will really only be Saturday that I have to eat what they serve. I’m getting there so late on Friday and leaving so early on Sunday that it won’t be a mealtime. However, the bad news is that I’ll be in the car for six or seven hours each way and I always get horrible cases of the munchies while riding in the car.

,

  1. #1 by Lucrecia on February 23, 2009 - 9:26 am

    I had to be at other peoples houses twice this weekend. Its SO much harder! If you are anything like me you feel a bit of guilt not eating what people make for you. Moderation is the key and you seem to have that well under control!!

  2. #2 by Lola on February 23, 2009 - 11:11 am

    Hang in there! Slow and steady wins the race. Ok, so you had a roll and a brownie. You could have had 2! You stopped at 1! Celebrate your small wins. You will get there. But don’t give up. :o)

  3. #3 by Helen's Journey on February 23, 2009 - 1:40 pm

    I know exactly how you feel. When I go to my Dad’s for dinner, I know not everything is diet friendly and I can’t count the calories in the meal. I used to think maybe I just shouldn’t go at all.
    Hang on in there and as Lucrecia said everything in moderation. I beat myself up a couple of days ago for eating a pizza and fries, and put on 1lb. I was expecting to put on more so I didn’t need to get so mad at myself.

  4. #4 by Fitness Surfer on February 23, 2009 - 5:04 pm

    I’ve been there. Some how this week I’m on the flip side which i rarely am =) I’ll enjoy it while i’ve got it. I finally started eating lots more veggies and just cleaner in general. I feel healthier, and just more optimistic in general. It’s just one day at a time and eventually the day’s are just better.

  5. #5 by my3monthchallenge on February 23, 2009 - 9:32 pm

    Reading the yummy food descriptions are a tortue in itself (it’s lunchtime for me now), I can’t imagine the inner struggles you must have went through at dinner! And it’s all homemade too…YUM.

  6. #6 by Tara on February 23, 2009 - 11:08 pm

    Maybe you could take those apple slices for when the munchies hit…or maybe sugar free jello in a cooler or something? You could eat a case of that without any damage. You need stuff you like, of course, otherwise you will be tempted to buy something when you stop for gas. The best thing is to pay at the pump, but then you still have to be careful when you go to the bathroom. I’m rambling.

    I think you did well to just eat one brownie and one roll. I totally lost control this weekend. It’s getting harder and harder for me because it feels like it should be over, I think. This is really harder than it was in the beginning. Sorry– that doesn’t give you much to look forward to, does it?

    Good luck this weekend– just don’t give up completely, and don’t get too discouraged with the gain. You know how your weight goes up and down, and you know it’s not a real gain!

  7. #7 by TheHealthyFamily on February 24, 2009 - 9:55 am

    “Many of life’s failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.” Mark Twain

    Don’t give up m’dear – you need to push through this and keep your eye on your goal.

    You CAN take back control when you’re at your friend’s house. Ask her to take you to her local market and stock up on fresh fruits and veggies, yogurt, and some chicken or fish. Eat something before you go out, so you’ve got something already in you and won’t go overboard in a restaurant, club, etc.

    You can do this!

  8. #8 by La Traductora on February 26, 2009 - 1:22 pm

    When I want to get encouraged, all I do is eat Mexican food . . . it’s ANYTHING but boring–and oh so good for you. Mexican . . much more than beans and tortillas!

Leave a Reply

