Hooray for a Fresh Start!

Today actually went really well. I think it’s helping that I feel like I’m starting over with a clean slate. I was more motivated to get through a lot of things like the 2pm slump where I really wanted a snack. I was also genuinely hungry, so I definitely need to plan better. The problem was that I ate all my snacks in the morning. But I didn’t give in. I also came home and did a workout video (Leslie Sansone 4 mile Walk Slim), which was actually a very good workout. She does jogging intervals and I was actually sweating by the time it was over. And the time flew by – I think because I hadn’t done that video in a while it seemed new. I only dipped into my “flex calories” by 50 cals, so not too bad. My only real “mistake” for the day was some munchies (melba toast crackers and 3 saltines) when I got home from work before I worked out. I should have immediately started working out, but instead I lingered for a few minutes and I was so hungry that I started munching. I also stuck with my no-spending plan and I feeling that is very acheivable and it’s also helping a lot that I’m not buying any snacks. I know it’s not an option at all, since I’m not allowed to spend any money – so I avoid the mental battles of “well, could I maybe fit this vending machine snack into my calories for the day?” I just know that I can’t get anything from the vending machine, so I didn’t even argue with myself. I’m off to bed now, because I’m going to try a morning workout tomorrow (keyword: TRY). I hope to have some time to catch up on blog-reading tomorrow!

Here’s what I ate today:

  • Omelet w/ cheese (250)
  • Two sugar free puddings  (120)
  • Two Southwest Turkey Burgers w/ cheddar cheese  (410)
  • Two servings of Melba Toast  (100)
  • 3 Saltine crackers (50)
  • Smart Ones Breakfast Burrito (220)
  • Green Giant frozen Immunity Blend Steamed Veggies (100)
  • Total: 1250
  • Flex Cals Remaining: 1450
  • Workout: 40 mins of Leslie Sansone 4 mile walk slim (-350?)
  1. #1 by Hotch Potchery on March 31, 2009 - 12:37 am

    I NEED an omelet. I think I will do a morning workout on Wednesday, then go have an omelet and grits. YUM.

    Good for you starting over. I kind of feel like I am too. I got one 25lb chunk off, let’s go for another one!

    I have never tried the Walk Away the Pounds…is the music good?

  2. #2 by Christy on March 31, 2009 - 7:09 am

    Awesome dude! I have some suggestions that would only add SMALL amounts of calories. Add some veggies to those eggs…onions, mushrooms, tomatoes, broccoli, zucchini…anything to beef it up and keep you full longer. Unless you are doing a low carb and counting calories (both are not recommended at the same time) you should also add some whole grains to your menu. If you leave some of the cheese out of your day you will have extra room for some snacks that will leave you full longer.

    Here is my suggestion for your meals today:
    Breakfast: 1 egg and 1 egg white omlet w/ onion, mushroom served on 1 piece whole wheat bread w/ laughing cow cheese. Depending on the type of bread this meal should be around 250 or less calories.

    Mid-morning snack: 1/2 cup low fat cottage cheese and some sort of fruit or veggie. This is around 100 calories…you could even add in a serving of melba toast. cottage cheese w/ some dill sprinkled on it tastes great on crackers/melba toasts.

    Lunch: 1 Southwest burger with cheddar cheese, lettuce, tomato, onion, whole wheat bun and piece of fruit….if you want more calories left over switch out the cheddar for some Laughing Cow Cheese. This lunch would be around 400 calories.

    Afternoon snack: sugar free pudding, 3 vanilla wafers (around 15 calories each) banana….this is around 210 calories.

    Dinner: make sure to have protein, whole grain and veggies around 300-400 calories

    I know that you are on a budget so you might not be able to make changes in your menu. these are just my suggestions. Have you consulted with a doctor about eating so few calories in a day? I know I am a broken record when I say that you should eat more. But from what I can tell we might weigh about the same…if so you should totally eat more. Your body will react better to weight loss if you are feeding it properly.

    • #3 by laurajane on April 1, 2009 - 8:39 pm

      Great suggestions on how to change up the menu to help me feel full! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

