Did well today

Happy to report I did well today. I was super worried about dinner at a friend’s house, but it turned out to be okay. I struggle so much with eating at other people’s houses where they cook – even with all the little tips and tricks. Things are so out of my control. And even though I know one or two meals a week at someone’s house won’t make or break me and my weight, sometimes I’d rather splurge on things that I really enjoy rather than on whatever high calorie thing the person happens to be serving. I’d much to prefer to eat 500 calories of chocolate cake than 500 calories of lasagna with a buttery breadstick on the side, you know? And tonight, I did NOT want to splurge at all. Because I already had Coldstone ice cream on Wednesday and I had a slip-up with the cookies yesterday. But what could I do? I feel like I still need a solution to the eating at other people’s houses thing, because it happens quite often. Here are my options:

  • I could have been completely anti-social and ridiculous and refused to go simply because I didn’t want face the food problem. That’s a horrible solution for so many reasons, and I have not ever done that, thankfully.
  • I could just say, who cares, go and eat whatever I want and enjoy. Problem with that is that is part of what got me here in the first place and like I said some weeks there’s just not room for that.
  • I could go to the person’s house and not eat at all (eat before I go on my own) or take my own food. For some reason, I hate doing that. I feel very conspicuous if I take my own food, especially in settings when there’s six people sitting around the table family-style and it would be blatantly obvious.

Anyway, I just needed to vent about that. But all that to say, they had chicken in a pretty healthy bbq sauce (one without much sugar – just ketchup and vinegar, I think). And they also had green beans, which I ate a lot of. And, the thing I am most proud of:

I DIDN”T EAT ANY DESSERT!!!! And I didn’t even feel deprived. I made apple pie for the dessert. While everyone else was eating apple pie, I ate an apple. 80 calories instead of nearly 800! Not I won’t always be that lucky – if the dessert had been chocolate, I believe I still would have avoided it, but I would have felt deprived just eating an apple instead.

Absolutely no way I could fit in exercise today. I’m hoping to do so tomorrow, but even that is starting to look iffy. I just wish there were more hours in a day!!

Here’s the food journal:

  • april32009
  • Total cals: 1504
  • Flex “cals” remaining: 650
,

  1. #1 by Lola Fierce on April 4, 2009 - 10:48 am

    woo hoo girl! You should be so proud of skipping the desert. :o)

Leave a Reply

