Thursday

Don’t you love my creative title?

Anyway, today went okay, I suppose. I think this no-numbers thing may prove to be far less stressful for me. My biggest challenge for the day was that I kept reaching for something sweet. I don’t know what it is, but if I don’t have something sweet after a meal, I feel like the meal just isn’t done. I can’t tell you how many times to do I instinctively went to get something sweet and had to stop myself. I had more close calls with chocolate today, than I imagine most normal people have in a year. (slight exaggeration, possibly). First, when I was in the grocery store, I actually bought some chocolate – obviously a stupid move. I ate one piece, then wisely decided to trash the other three pieces before they ended up in my mouth. Once today I counted out the change for the vending machine to get some M&M’s and then threw  the change back in my drawer before I could do something stupid. Tomorrow I’ll have to make sure I don’t  have any money with me at my desk just to be extra sure I can’t do something stupid. Then on my way home from work, I actually stopped at the grocery and went inside for the sole purpose of buying chocolate. I got a hold of msyelf and raced back out of the store without so much as a sidelong glance at the chocolate. So then, I go to a friends for dinner (thankfully, no dessert there, and in reference to yesterday’s post, the dinner was very healthy – tilapia and green beans – I asked. before I went. I wouldn’t have gone if it weren’t healthy. I admit I did have some mac-n-cheese there, though.) Then, on the way home from there, I headed to the grocery store for some chocolate – this time I only made it as far as the parking lot before thinking better of it.

And I tried eating fruit but it didn’t help – I ate a banana, an apple, and orange throughout the day. Just isn’t an adequate substitute for chocolate. Don’t know why today was such a struggle, but at least I fought my way through. I hope tomorrow is easier. It may be. But I know from experience some days will be like this and there is nothing to do but keep fighting it.

,

  1. #1 by Lola Fierce on April 23, 2009 - 10:08 pm

    Do you like Chocolate pudding? Would that do it? Or I’ve heard some people say that some cocoa covered almonds are good.

    COULD you stop if you had just one taste? Like for me, I have a piece of chocolate usually a day…but I portion it out. I PLAN it in my day so I don’t stress out about it. But, I know some people can’t stop at just one piece…so I’m not sure how you are.

    Have you tried those Chunky Blue Bunny Frozen Treats? The strawberry one is SOOO good. Or maybe some WW Fudge Bars?

  2. #2 by Natasha on April 23, 2009 - 11:18 pm

    I really like flavoured rice cakes, especially the butter toffee ones. They are only 60 calories and they satisfy my sweet tooth.

  3. #3 by Tara on April 24, 2009 - 12:11 am

    wow. don’t take this the wrong way, but your behavior is totally like an alcoholic. I mean, I have the same issue with pizza. We all have our trigger foods. But just look at how you described going to the store– what, three times? Great job at avoiding it and just leaving the last two times, but maybe you should go cold turkey again. I wonder if checking out 12 step type thing online (probably it would be about alcohol, but just adapt it) would help you. I don’t mean to be insulting because, like I said, I have my own issues like this, but it is something to think about. How did it go last time when you eliminated it?

    It does help not to have money around. I don’t carry any myself during the day at school, and it’s a big help. I have meal bars stocked there, so if I really were starving, I could eat one of those, but they’re not so tempting, so usually I’m just fine. Could you leave your purse in the car?

  4. #4 by Heather on April 24, 2009 - 8:03 am

    I am a huge fan of the WW Chocolate & Caramel bars. The one point ones are perfect for a sweet treat, without going overboard.

  1. What a Day! « Journey to Goal

Leave a Reply

