Saturday

Another creative title, huh?

Today went well. I started the morning off with a trip to the Y. It was a beautiful day – almost hot, actually. Anyway, I did exercise for 70 minutes, but not as hard as usual. I am really NOT a very good morning exerciser, even if I had plenty of sleep. I really did have to force myself through the workout and my average heartrate was about 145, and it’s usually between 165-175. Oh well, I still burned 550 calories, and I did it. I also feel like I got some decent exercise the rest of the day, because I was on my feet nearly all day.

Then, the event I’m most proud of – the boyfriend and I stopped by Dairy Queen this evening. And Dairy Queen has for this month only the best blizzard ever – midnight madness (vanilla swirled with fudge with chocolate truffle pieces.) I blogged about this fabulous blizzard a couple weeks ago. So of course, I want that stupid blizzard. I thought about it, and decided instead to order a vanilla-orange bar (which is sugar free and only has 60 calories). The surprising thing is that it didn’t even bother me that much. I wasn’t dying for the good blizzard. I was pretty happy with the 60 calorie vanilla-orange bar – it was truly very good and hit the spot for the ice cream need. I think it actually helped that I’m not counting calories. If I were, I would have calculated and realized I could fit the 600 calorie blizzard in and stay in my calories – but then I wouldn’t be able to eat anything else all night. Instead I thought about it differently: I thought about how I’d already had high calorie treats last weekend and on Monday. And so I didn’t need it, and I don’t want to establish the habit of getting a DQ blizzard everytime it’s hot and I’m outside. That’s a bad habit. I needed to find something else.

,

  1. #1 by Tara on April 26, 2009 - 2:49 pm

    Wow– you did really well. I don’t think I would have had that much willpower (the saying no to going out for dessert). High five to you.

    Also, I’m impressed about the vanilla orange bar, too. So, you aren’t counting calories? I must have missed this somewhere. That’s probably a good switch for you to shake things up a bit. I’m on the preconditioning phase as well as a different first ten day menu, and I like the change of pace. It’s still a diet, and I’m still ready to move on with things, but having it be different is helping me, i think.

    Does the BF know you’re on a diet? If so, that’s a big step for you. I think it’s good that you can be open about that, though. I hope next week goes just as well for you.

  1. What a Day! « Journey to Goal

Leave a Reply

