I can’t take it…

…I must confess.

So after I blogged about today (Tuesday), I did something stupid. I made very sweet muffins (may as well have been cupcakes). Now why did I do that? Why don’t I learn? I snacked on some batter. As always, it’s hard to measure something like that – you always think you’ve eaten less than you really have. I did only have half a muffin or cupcake or calorie-laden-baked-good or whatever-you-wanna-call-it. Will I EVER learn!!!? This really reminds of the last time I asked that question on this blog, and a million times since then in my head. And the root cuase of the problem (WARNING: DO NOT click the link if you don’t want to be confronted with  a picture of a brownie): Bake-a-holics Anonymous.

I wish I knew the answer. It’s not that I think I really had too many calories today or anything like that – it’s the principle of the matter. I cannot successfully lose and maintain a decent weight if I continue to regularly bake high calorie things. Period. I know that. Today I managed to have some self control and I had worked out a lot and eaten lighter most of the day – but some days I would snack more on the batter or the finished product, and I don’t burn 700 calories working out all the time, and it wouldn’t have stopped me if I hadn’t worked out today and if I had already eaten enough.

And everytime I make this mistake, I tell myself that I need to learn from it and move on. But I never permanently learn from it. I learn some things, but then I’m still back here making the same stupid mistake again and again.

You know, I’m an engineer designing nuclear power plants – you’d think I’d be intelligent enough to figure out that I should not bake high-calorie things juts for fun – you’d think!

  1. #1 by Lola Fierce on April 28, 2009 - 10:01 pm

    Do you keep track of your menstral / ovulation cycle? I swear that when I am menstrating (well, the couple of days before) and when Iam ovulating, I crave sweets. I keep a very close watch on it and I swear it HELPS to know that I’m going to be feeling like that soon…almost so that I can anticipate it…so I won’t think that I’ve totally lost all control. It almost feels “normal” for that time. Track yours for a month or two, I bet that’s when you have your highest cravings.

    Also, I’m giving you a mission, should you choose to accept. I want you to research some “better for you” options to cure your sweet tooth. You read Roni, right? Check out green lite bites, find something that will work for you. YOU LIKE SWEETS. You can’t help it. You have to find something that can meet your “sweet fix” without destroying your day. (of course, you can totally ignore your mission, I won’t hold it against you…)

  2. #2 by creatingnatasha on April 28, 2009 - 11:59 pm

    There are a lot of great recipes out there that indulge your sweet tooth but aren’t crazy high points. I make brownies that amount to 2 pts per square (http://weightponderings.blogspot.com/2009/04/bean-brownies.html if you’re interested). I have a sweet tooth too, and I LOVE baking, but it doesn’t have to throw your eating out of whack. Clean Eating magazine has some great options for ‘healthier’ snack foods.

  3. #3 by coco on April 29, 2009 - 6:04 am

    wooooooo….. you design nuclear plants??? how cool is that!!! 🙂

  4. #4 by Lucrecia on April 29, 2009 - 11:09 am

    I was thinking something very similar in the shower this morning! That my complete fall off the wagon/comfort eating of the weekend shows how very little I have changed and really made a lifestyle change. When the going gets tough I go right back to the old habits. Pisses me off I tell ya! I promise to let you know as soon as I figure out how to stop though! 🙂

    Good job on keeping it to a minimum! That really is the key to long term success.

  5. #5 by Tara on April 29, 2009 - 10:16 pm

    I was thinking about lower-calorie options, too. Plus, with the healthier version, you might not want to eat as much if it doesn’t taste quite as good. It might still hit the spot, too. Also, even if it tasted bad, it would also take care of your desire to bake/create in the kitchen. Sometimes I just get in one of those moods where I want to make something.

    Still, the equivalent of one muffin is not too bad. It could have been way way worse. Not to make excuses, but don’t let it get you down. Tomorrow is another day.

Leave a Reply

