I’m back!

Well, I’m back. Sorry I’ve been MIA for the past couple weeks. At first, it was because I was busy and had company and all that good stuff. But that excuse only goes so far. After that, I must confess, it was because I was totally “off the wagon” and what’s there to blog about when you are doing so poorly? And when I say that I fell off the wagon, I don’t mean that I just sorta slipped off, I mean that I was launched off and it took me a while to even find my way back to the wagon. But, alas, I have found my way back, and I’m here. I weighed myself for the first time in a few days yesterday morning, and, let me tell you it was terrible. If I weren’t in such a hurry, I think I would have sat down and cried. Good thing I was in a hurry. I also considered grabbing a hammer and smashing the scale to smitherines, but that would have be a dangerous mess since the scale is glass, and my smashing energies would be better spent smashing all the chocolate in the world. Maybe the scale’s broken. Maybe I’ll keep buying new ones until I find one I like. Nah, buy the time I’d spent enough money to find one that actually shows a nice weight for me, I could have paid for liposuction five times.

I am not going to write a serious post analyzing all the causes of this latest catastrophe (if you want my thoughts just go back and read my archives – trust me, there’s no lack of catastrophes in there). But I do want to briefly update you on my approach and provide just a bit of explanation. So, if  you have been reading my blog for any length time, you know that I have really been struggling with my weight loss efforts the past several months. I started this blog along with my weight loss efforts last September. I quickly (quickly for me anyway – I think it was about 20 weeks) lost almost 20 pounds. In December, January, February, and March I simply maintained but that wasn’t easy. In April and May I gained back about half of the 20 pounds I lost – despite my many efforts to actually lose weight. So that begs the natural question: what was I doing differently back when I actually was losing weight?

Well, folks, I know the answer to that question quite well. As much as I hate to admit it, I was intensely focused during those weeks or Dave Ramsey would say “gazelle intense.” Granted, there were several annoyances that came with that type of intensity. I counted every calorie. Logged every bite. Weighed every morsel. Measured everything sight. Blogged every single day. Read hundereds of weight loss blogs and other encouring websites. Exercised 4-5 times a week every single week. Without fail. Exercised every single Monday to start my week off right for 13 weeks straight. Went cold turkey on desserts and snacks. For some, this may seem a little ridiculous. A lot of things you read will tell you “start small” and “everything in moderation.” Trust me, I think that is a wonderful theory. And I know that it works for many people. And I wanted to work for me and I tried it for months. I tried not journaling every bite and loosening up a bit. It clearly didn’t work for me. As much as I wish it would work for me, it hasn’t. Ever. And the intense approach has worked. It has a proven track record for me. I’m not saying the moderation thing will never work for me in the future – but now it clearly isn’t. Nor am I saying that it’s a bad approach, and I know for many it does work. I read an article recently that sums it up quite well. The article was on personal finance, not weight loss, but it’s amazing the similarities between the two (and as a side note: I continue to marvel at the fact that I have so much control over the personal finance side of my life, but so little on the healthy eating and exercise side.). Anyway, basically the guy was defending his approach of being very focused – saying that small changes may work well for some people, but not necessarily for everyone, and I like the way he said it.  Alhtough the strict approach comes with some additional “stress” and worry and definitely consumes  a lot of time and energy, I’ll take that type of stress anyday over feeling out of control and bigger than a hippopatumus. Anyway, bottom line is that I’m going back to the strict calorie counting approach. I feel like I have learned a lot in the past few months of my struggles, including becoming more convinced that this is the best approach for me. So, without further adieu, I present to you my food journal for today (and I also burned 600 calories through exercise – the elliptical at the Y and jogging in the park):

May282009

  1. #1 by Tara on May 28, 2009 - 11:59 pm

    I think you’re totally right that the moderate approach only works for some. Your personality type is very driven– if you decide to do something (at least, in every other area of your life), then you do it. period. So, I think it’s fine for you to hyper-focus. The moderate approach doesn’t seem to work for me, either, because I use it as an excuse to go crazy because I’m not on a diet. Perhaps one day I will learn moderation for maintenance, but for the losing phase, it just doesn’t work for me. If I can’t see results fast enough, I don’t have the willpower to keep working because even moderation is still work– hard work.

    Good luck with everything, and I’ll be checking in! I was going to call you today because I checked your blog after I posted today and saw you hadn’t been on in a while. Then I left my cell phone at home. Maybe we can catch up this weekend a little. I miss talking to you. I’ll be free tomorrow evening anytime you’re free, or I’ll talk to you some other time. Good luck for tomorrow! You can do it– you’ve done it before.

  2. #2 by MamaBearJune on May 29, 2009 - 12:56 am

    Yeah, you need to find what works for you. But I must say that smashing all the chocolate in the world is totally unnecessary! 😉 I eat dark chocolate every day and have been continually losing. It’s a MUFA (monounsaturated fatty acid) – the healthy fat, and recommended on the Flat Belly Diet, which I’ve been doing. 😀

  3. #3 by fatinah on May 29, 2009 - 9:55 am

    I will take you one even further. Just like some people can lose their weight and then somehow eat intuitively to keep it off, I believe there have to be people out there like me, who know that they will have to count points the rest of their lives if they ever want to maintain a healthy weight.

    Good for you for finding your style!

    • #4 by laurajane on May 31, 2009 - 9:21 pm

      Yes, I agree. I may be one of those people!

  4. #5 by Lucrecia on May 31, 2009 - 7:19 pm

    I’m exactly the same way, I have to give it 100% attention. I just pray that eventually it will become more of a habit and I can let my guard down. But until then, I’m willing to stay focused full force! We can do this!

  1. I’m back! | Beverly Hills Liposuction

Leave a Reply

