Still going strong

Sorry, I haven’t blogged since Friday. However, that is not a bad sign. I was just taking Saturday off to do other things. I had planned to spend some time on the blog on Sunday evening, but I ended up with other plans. Oh well.

Anyway, like I say – doing well – had a decent calorie deficit each day. Kept up with the exercise and the attempting to jog. Had a great, relaxing weekend and was able to get some organizing projects around the house done.

I plan on updating a few pages on the blog later in the day and I will let you know what I updated.

I weigh everyday and my weight has been exactly the same since last Thursday. It has not budged at all, and I’m okay with that. I know that because of my calories I am losing fat, but I also know that it often takes  a while for it to show up on the scale. This certainly isn’t the first time I’ve lost weight by counting calories, and I know from experience, that often I will be the EXACT same weight (I don’t know how it’s even possible to be that consistent) for several days in a row (like a week or two) and then the scale will drop 3-4, even 5 pounds overnight and will never go back up. It’s strange. I have theories as to why this happens, but I won’t bore you with them. Tomorrow is my official weigh-in for the biggest loser competition and I’ll be surprised if it’s any different than it was this morning. That means this week I will lose 0.39%. That doesn’t bother me too much because I can’t really control the actual numbers on the scale and because I know it will come off next week. And the end is what really counts anyway.

Oh, and the Biggest Loser competition that I’m doing. I never really described it. We have a group of 9 people, and we each pay ten dollars at the beginning and weigh-in each Wednesday. It last for twelve weeks. And we also have to pay a dollar for each pound we gain, if we do gain anything. We post our percentage lost each week. At the end, whoever lost the highest percentage of body weight gets the money! It’s pretty fun and motivating. It really does help to have some extra accountability. Tomorrow will be the end of the second week.

One more  thing I did that’s pretty helpful. I hung up a whiteboard by my desk and I’m putting my calorie deficit for the day, total calorie deficit for the week, and calories deficit needed for the rest of the week if I am going to reach my goal of a 7000 calorie deficit for the week. (which would be two pounds) By the way, this week, I won’t achieve that – it’s a pretty aggressive goal. Here’s a picture of my “motivation board”:

Board

,

  1. #1 by susie on June 9, 2009 - 12:48 pm

    Oh your biggest loser contest sounds FUN!! I can’t wait to hear the updates! Congrats on ALREADY losing 15 lbs!! I see your SHINY 15 lbs GONE BADGE!!! That’s great! I think we’ll see a 20 soon.
    Thank you for stopping by and for the encouragement!

  2. #2 by Actual Scale on June 9, 2009 - 12:55 pm

    Yes, a big congrats on those 15lbs and you are so right…the scale won’t budge but if you stick to it you’ll see a big ol’ plunge. Pretty fabulous reward for all that hard work!
    Best of luck with your challenge!

  3. #3 by Lola Fierce on June 9, 2009 - 2:23 pm

    What are the check boxes at the end (saturday is checked)? Just curious.

    And, congratulations. I think you are right about having some accountability. It definitely helps me if I know someone is watching. :o)

    • #4 by laurajane on June 9, 2009 - 2:31 pm

      Oh, the checkboxes. Well, I had a plan that now is almost laughable. One column of boxes was to check off each day were I only had two cans of diet soft drinks (or less). My goal was to have two of those days each week. Well, that’s laughable because, well, as you can see, none of those boxes are checked. The other set of boxes is to check whenever I have “no-spend” day (no spending money that is). My goal was two of those – but that’s laughable because that’s not even a challenge for me. I work at home on Tuesdays and then to church that evening, so I almost never go to any stores or anything on that day. And I rarely go to any stores or anything on Sunday either. A better goal would probably to have one no-spend day on a day when I’m at work and am going places at lunchtime.

Leave a Reply

