So much to say

Wow, so much to say, so little time!

I haven’t posted since Tuesday. Fortunately, that’s not a bad sign – I’ve just been pretty busy and blogging is the thing that keeps getting pushed off the list. Here’s a few of the things I really wanted to mention:

  • Wednesday is official weigh-in day for my biggest loser competition and  I did lose about 0.7% which isn’t bad although I know it doesn’t sound like very much. I lost so much the previous week, plus even 1% a week is a very aggressive goal. My calorie deficit for the week ended up being in the 5 thousands, so the amount I lost was just about right. I’m still in the lead in the competition (after the 2nd week) but who knows how long that will last.
  • Workouts are so weird and frustrating. I have been working out regularly and burning a decent amount of calories there, but for some reason I’ve been having more off days lately. Where I go out there to workout, absolutely force myself to get through the first 10-15 minutes, and then just can’t finish cause it’s so miserable. And then the next day I will go to do the same thing and it will feel great and I’ll do so well. I don’t know what it is. It’s a little frustrating.
  • Thursday/Friday/Saturday I had times where I was feeling pretty sick. As in I could hardly do anything. I never actually get sick, and I don’t know what it was/is. I had thought maybe I wasn’t eating enough before my workouts or that I wasn’t eating enough or that I was working out too much. Those things didn’t seem very likely. I just felt extremely tired (even though I’ve been getting plenty of sleep), dizzy, almost like I was going to throw up, and the smell/sight of food was icky so I pretty much forced myself to eat (assuming that’s what I needed). Today I feel wonderful, though – I don’t think I really realized how bad I was feeling until I woke up feeling wonderful this morning. I have no idea what was going on – I had thought it really had something to do with eating/exercise but now I’m thinking I just actually had a mild case of the flu or something. Regardless, I’m going to focus on eating enough through the day before my workouts.
  • GUESS WHAT!? On Saturday, I did something new and brave – I went to a spinning class (for the first time ever) by myself. I was nervous because I’ve never actually been to any sort of exercise class (I always stick to the boring cardio machines) and I’m totally uncoordinated. But I figured, I do know how to ride a bike, so how much coordination could it take? Thankfully, I was right, it really didn’t take much in the way of coordination, and I stuck it out fairly well endurance wise as well. There were about 10 people in the class and they had all been there before and were experienced. It was nice to do something different for a change and it was a very good workout – burned pretty much the same amount of calories (possibly slightly more) than I would on the elliptical. So I may do some of those classes again – because the elliptical does get old after a while.
  • This topic probably deserves a post of its own, but I’m considering joining the gym at work and working out in the mornings before work. You can stop laughing now. I’ll explain my whole line of reasoning later, and why it just might possibly have a teeny chance of actually working for me. But I’m not doing anything rash and my first step is simply to go to bed a 9pm tonight and get up at 5am tomorrow. If I get get up in when I don’t plan on working out in the morning, I’d be a fool to think that a plan to workout would make me any more likely to get up. I’ll let you know tomorrow how that first step went.
  1. #1 by Lola Fierce on June 15, 2009 - 7:40 am

    This lady that I work with started going to spin class about a year ago. She absolutely did not like it at first. But, she kept going…and now…now…she LOVES it. She can’t wait to go. By hearing her talk, its almost the highlight of her week. So, I hope you keep trying those classes. For me, (even though I don’t go to the gym), I find that I’ll push myself more if other people are around.

Leave a Reply

