Who knew?

Well, who knew I could be a morning exerciser? I got up early this morning, went to the Y, and did a spinning class (that started at 6:30am). It felt great, I felt great, burned 500 calories even before breakfast. Spinning truly is a good cardio workout. One of the most calorie blasting parts of the workout is what they call “jumps.” That means you stand up and pedal for about 4 seconds and then sit down and pedal for 4 seconds, and then stand up, and so on. And we dad that for an entire song (probably three minutes or so.) Then we did fast jumps where you do each thing for only 2 seconds – talk about getting that heart rate up there!

Okay, for the bad news. The scale mysteriously went up two pounds this morning, putting me very close to where I was last Wednesday. Ordinarily a jump wouldn’t be so bad, but tomorrow is official weigh-in day so I hope it doesn’t stick around. Plus it’s the first major weight fluctuation I’ve seen since I started my rigorous calorie counting three weeks ago. It alwasy throws me for a loop – did I count the calories correclty, am I way off on my exercise calories, is it this or that? But it’s one day, I’m not even gonna bother analyzing. Weight can definitely fluctuate – no big deal.

I almost met my calorie goal for the week – I’m 151 calories shy of my 7000 deficit goal. Not too bad. Took a lot of hard work. Today’s 1702 calorie deficit definitely helped.

I don’t know about this running thing. I tried jogging outside today, and I have been horrible shin splints. It is so very painful. I am still in pain. I don’t know how to stop them. I’ve been trying to take it slow. Easy. I took two rest days off from running. I’ve run before and only had some very minor problems with them, but this time it’s just really bad. I just may not be able to run. Even jogging for five minutes causes them. And it only gets much worse after I stop jogging. I think I’m going to do some internet on them tonight and see if I can figure out what to do about them.

Okay, here’s the graph for today:

June162009

  1. #1 by my3monthchallenge on June 16, 2009 - 10:00 pm

    Nothing like spinning for a good, hard cardio workout!! Jumps kill my thighs too, I dread every single second of class but I must say the results are always worth it hehe. One day the instructor asked me which spinning interval do I like the most. I said NONE! mahahaha I couldn’t help but be honest.

  2. #2 by MamaBearJune on June 17, 2009 - 3:55 am

    I’ve had shin splints and they SUCK! I think the only thing you can do is rest. And that’s precisely why I won’t run. 😛 Hope you feel better soon.

  3. #3 by Lucrecia on June 17, 2009 - 1:23 pm

    I’ve been up 2 days this morning at 5:30 to exercise, doesn’t it make the whole day just a little better? Who knew?!?! I tried jogging a few months ago and by the 4th or 5th time I was having to ice down my shins right after! I gave that up for awhile!

    • #4 by laurajane on June 17, 2009 - 3:43 pm

      Glad to know I’m not alone.

  4. #5 by Mom on June 17, 2009 - 3:55 pm

    I am anxious to see today’s blog (Wednesday) to see if you mysteriously lost those two pounds.

  5. #6 by Lola Fierce on June 17, 2009 - 11:27 pm

    I used to LOVE to workout in the mornings and for months I did it religiously. But I cannot get myself up nowadays. GRRR. I know I would love it so much more than in the afternoon. YAY for you! And I say, do cardio that you like. Stick to the spinning if you like it and ditch the running. Not everyone is a runner and that’s ok.

Leave a Reply

