Weekend Update

So are you wondering how I survived the Cheesecake Factory? Here’s a quick recap of the weekend:

We had a girls weekend at my place. It was a lot of fun. I have been very faithfully logging every calorie in my online SparkPeople food journal for the past 3.5 weeks, and then analyzing my calorie deficits and shooting for 7000 each weke. That’s been working very well for me – that intense approach is what I really thrive on. Well, there’s still some a need for some sort of moderation and relaxation every now and then. I mean, I can’t track every single bite I eat every single day for the rest of my life. But on the same token, just not tracking and trying to use good judgment and moderation obviously did not work for me, so I’ve come up with a hybrid. I took the weekend off from tracking. I still did try to eat well – I didn’t pig out – it wasn’t a “free” eat-whatever-you-want weekend or anything like that.  I still exercised. I just wasn’t a slave to my food journaling. And on Monday (yesterday) I didn’t miss a beat – started right back up with the food journaling. I think the 3-day break for the food journal was actually refreshing. So I’m thinking my long term solution is a hybrid approach.

Basically we had one indulgence on the weekend, which was the Cheesecake Factory and everything else was pretty healthy. I think that was a good balance. I really didn’t worry about eating low calorie at the Cheesecake Factory – is that even possible? I split an entree with someone else, since they have huge portions. We got BBQ salmon with a side of mashed potatoes and corn succotash – I didn’t even my entire half of the mashed potatoes. I did have some of their bread. And of course, I had an entire piece of cheesecake! I had the coconut cream cheesecake – delicious! Anyway, what’s strange is that the next morning after I had this big meal with quite a bit of sodium (and I’m certain that meal was around 1500 calories – the cheesecake alone was probably around 1000), I was down almost a pound from the day before. It’s so strange. It’s like it didn’t even affect my weight. I was imagining that I’d have a temporary spike due to all the sodium and decent volume of food eaten late at night. Not so. Strange – I really think my natural weight fluctuations are more powerful than anything else I do or eat. Also I got in a decent 500-600 calorie burning workout on Saturday morning. We also did quite a bit of walking through the mall and things. Also, I did some serious calorie-blasting cleaning on Sunday. I’m serious. It burns calories. (I don’t count them though as exercise – that’s just part of my normal routine). I also did fifteen mintues on the elliptical at the Y on Sunday. Anyway, still expecting a great weigh-in for my official weigh-in tomorrow.

And the shopping! I can tell that I’ve lost some weight. I totally hit the jackpot on dresses. I took about 15 different dresses back to the dressing room (you never know what will fit or look good on you until you try it on.) And all but two actually looked really good on me! I was flabbergasted – nothing ever seems to actually fit correctly. I think I bought seven dresses (for a total of $270 – not bad), but now I must decide which ones to return and which ones to keep because I obviously don’t need seven dresses! Here’s a couple pics of my favorite dress and another pic of me from the weekend that I’ll put on my progress pics page soon:

GreenDress1GreenDress2Redshirt

  1. #1 by Lucrecia on June 23, 2009 - 8:06 pm

    What a great feeling to go shopping and like what you see in the mirror, I can’t wait for that!

Leave a Reply

