Make that the THIRD day in a row!

Yes, there was one narrow miss with chocolate, but I had a good day yet again. Finally! Unfortunately just when I get in the groove I head out of town for the long weekend and get out of the groove. But we won’t worry about that now. Tomorrow should be stellar yet again.

I really think these perfect weather days are wonderful! They really do lift your spirits! You know, those custom-made-to-order days where the sun is shining every so brightly with just a few puffy clouds here and there. And it’s just the perfect temperature – so much so that you really can’t decide whether you’d prefer it to be one degree warmer or one degree cooler. So nice!

Oh, the narrow miss. Really, there were two narrow misses today. The first, I was at the grocery store buying my healthy lunch and some healthy snacks, when I just had to walk past the chocolate aisle. There I simply had to linger and look at the chocolate selection. I seriously was in that aisle looking at different types of chocolate, picking them up, reading nutrition labels (as if I were expecting to find a low calorie chocolate – trust me, if there were such a thing, I would have discovered it by now – and that disgusting excuse of a “food” Walden Farms stuff doesn’t count), etc. My problem with chocolate is this: I just love it. Yep, that’s the problem. I like it too much. And I like it every which way, the more variety the better. So I’m always dying to try a new combination, a new brand, a new something. The more different wierd flavors and ingredients you can pack in there, the better. Like the dark chocolate, white choclate, lemon, cherry, and waffle cone candy bar by Choxie at Target. So I found this one candy bar (I’d eyed this one several times previously in this store, by the way) that who even knows what it was because it was from some foreign country and all the words except the nutrition info and ingredients (and those were placed on with a sticker over the original pkg) were in some other language (for some reason I thought it was Swiss, but I have no idea why I thought that). But it was so unique, I was pretty sure I’d never had any chocolate from wherever-that-was before. I just had to try it. Nevermind that it was just one bar contained 2.5 servings and it cost $5.69! And nevermind the fact that I would actually consume only a square or two before being forced to throw the rest in the garbage because it was so good I was afraid I would eat it if I didn’t throw it away. Two little bites for $5.69! But I picked it up anyway. I came to my senses just before I was ready to check out and returned it back to the shelf. Whew! Why do I even torture myself by meandearing down those silly candy aisles!? What good can come of it? The only benefit I can possibly see is that if I were on some trivia show with lots of money at stake and they asked a question about chocolate, I’d know the answer.

Here’s today’s graph:

Sep022009

  1. #1 by Natasha on September 3, 2009 - 12:04 am

    I like how you describe your “narrow miss” with chocolate. It almost seems like the chocolate jumped out at you and you had to jump out of the way before it latched onto you.

    I’ve had those moments. I remember not too long ago I was walking through a grocery store and was carrying cinnamon buns. Where the heck did those come from? Geez. It’s like Ms. Sabotage has control over my arms and does stuff when I’m not looking.

    Here’s hoping they make a chocolate trivia show for you. 🙂

  2. #2 by Katie on September 3, 2009 - 12:58 am

    Thanks for welcoming me to the Healthy You Challenge! :] It’s nice to have a support group of people all working towards the same goal- being healthy!

    I know.. I just love Subway, but I do kick myself in the butt each time I get it, because It seems like such a waste of money. Why is it that it tastes SO much better when they make it?? haha.

    Congrats on 3 Days In A Row! :]

  3. #3 by Katie on September 3, 2009 - 1:00 am

    p.s: what exactly do you do in spin class? I heard it’s fun, but i’m kind of nervous to go for the first time & am just wondering what to expect.

  4. #4 by Lola on September 3, 2009 - 7:39 am

    3 days! Woo Hoo!…..and good job on avoiding that chocolate. You know that’s a trigger food for you.

  5. #5 by Kat on September 3, 2009 - 10:27 pm

    Congrats on another good day!

Leave a Reply

