Another less than stellar day

Well, I’m not too happy that today was another less than stellar day. I made slightly different mistakes than the ones I made yesterday, but mistakes none the less. My first problem is something I struggle with often: boredoom eating when I’m at work. It’s always been a major struggle for me and the worst part is that there’s nothing I can do to distract myself at work like there as at home or most other places. I’m not allowed to do non-work things, of course. So I gave in to an empty calorie snack. And then I did it again. And again. Got home and actually munched some. Dilly-dallied for a while to put off going to they Y. Finally went. Couldn’t quite get into the workout. Worked out for 26 minutes, but not very hard, and burned 206 calories. Better than nothing. One thing, though, is that I really tried to log all my food for the day. It was a little hard because I have munched on some things without measuring or portioning out servings. But I made my best guess. So, all in all, I ended the day with a 3 (yes THREE) calorie defecit. The worst part is, I was exercising some self control. There was a lot more that I wanted to eat.  And I didn’t want to work out at all. Tomorrow, while it should be much easier to stay in control because I’ll be home all day, will pose a bit of a challenge as I’m cooking an  unhealthy dinner for my fiancee’s birthday tomorrow. And there will be Dairy Queen ice cream cake! Wow. My original plan was to eat relatively lightly all day, workout of course, and then just eat normal portions of everything at dinner. That way my calories would come out about even for the day – wouldn’t make any progress on weight loss, but also wouldn’t gain anything. But now I hate to do that because the last two days I’ve be even on calories. I’m definitely not skipping the ice cream cake – I would seriously be thinking about it for days if I did. It usually backfires to do that. I will definitely send it home with people, though, so that I only have one serving and am not tempted again. But I might cook something different for myself for dinner. If I skip the chicken parmesan, I won’t miss it or think about it nearly as much as I would the choc chip cookie dough ice cream cake!

Oh, and the recipe I made yestserday. Turned out really well. Fiancee (who hates healthy things) even liked it! I mixed everything up in the crockpot dish and put it in the fridge the night before. So before I left for work all I had to do was take it out of the fridge and turn on the crockpot. And it only took about 15 minutes to prepare the night before. Then when I got home from work 10 hours later it was ready. The chicken was so tender – just fell apart. And I definitely put some shredded cheddar cheese on it. The whole thing made 55.5 ounces, and a moderate serving was 7.5 ounces, so it made 7.4 servings – the recipe said 8. So 221  calories (not counting the cheese). But those calories were very filling. Here’s a link to the recipe:

http://weight-watchers-points-recipes.blogspot.com/search?q=santa+fe+chicken

And here’s the stats for today:

Sep112009

  1. #1 by Kat on September 12, 2009 - 3:41 pm

    The recipe looks good. Thanks for sharing it. Your strategy sounds good about giving the cake away. Have fun tonight!

Leave a Reply

