Things are looking up!

Report on Today

Today went well overall. I had a horrible case of the munchies all morning and on into the afternoon – really, all day long. It was bad. I just wanted to munch and munch and munch. Every time I walked through the kitchen I would grab just one or two Wheat Thins or Fat Free pringles. Tried to satisfy with a serving of Tostitos and salsa. No go. Just had to power through and force myself to stay out of the kitchen. Worked out for an hour on the elliptical at lunchtime – it went by really fast because I was watching What Not to Wear while listening to the Two Fit Chicks and Microphone podcast. Still had the munchies after that, though. And I’ve really been craving chocolate a lot lately, so this is what I did, and I know some of you might not agree with this approach. But I had a can of green beans for dinner (70 calories) and warm choc chip cookies with sugar free vanilla ice cream for dessert (by the way, I can’t tell the difference in the sugar free and the regular with Breyer’s Double Churned) for about 400 calories. So I ended the day right on track calorie wise. Sometimes I just need a nice dessert.

Who knew the secret to happy weight loss?

I have to say, this week feels so much better than last week. Last week I was really just struggling along. I managed last week. My overall stats (workouts and calories consumed) are similar in each week, but my ATTITUDE is completely different. I mean, I feel like a new person. So what’s the difference? I took the time this past Sunday night, completely cleared my schedule, the husband was gone. And I made this apartment really sparkle (cleaned, organized things), I took some time for reflection, and a little time to plan for the week. That has made all the difference. I feel in calm and in control. Last week I felt completely disorganized, frazzled, and overwhelmed really, and for no really good reason. And it really impacted my attitude toward my weight loss. I felt like I was just barely making it, you know? It is really amazing what being surrounded by order will do for my thoughts and attitude.

Should I go out on a limb and try something new?

About a week ago, I told you all I was considering going out a limb and doing something completely new for me in order to help my healthy lifestyle. I just think doing new things is so good for me. I actually noticed this “Fitbloggin” conference several months as soon as it was set up, since it’s hosted by my favorite blogger. And it sounded intriguing to me – getting together with a bunch of other who also blog about fitness and healthy living – sounds like a place to learn a lot and make some friends! People I interact with in everyday life aren’t always as interested as I am in blogging or healthy living and things like that, so it would be nice to interact with some people who are. And I’ve never met any of my blog friends in real life. The best part about the conference is that it’s in Baltimore – a four hour drive! Very doable. No cost of plane ticket. No need to take a whole day off work. Plus it would be kinda fun to go somewhere by myself to see a new place. And the thing is, most blogging conferences and things take place far enough away that I would have to buy a plane and take a lot of time off work. This seems like a unique opportunity. Now, I’m really not a person who is really comfortable in new situations – or comfortable at all for the matter. Not the type of person to be able to go up to someone and easily strike up a conversation. So that does worry me. However, it might be good for me to get out of my comfort zone. And the worst that can happen is I’m so uncomfortable I don’t enjoy it all, don’t learn anything (hard to imagine that), and don’t make any new friends – so I just wasted a day and a half and little bit of money. But best case, I like it, have a great time, and learn a lot. I’m also concerned that a lot of people there are pro-bloggers or have been at this a lot longer than I have and are a lot more knowledgeable – but who better to learn from? Oh, and here’s the link to the conference I’m talking about: Fitbloggin’

What do you all think? Would you do it?

  1. #1 by Chibi Jeebs on February 3, 2010 - 1:54 am

    I’m not going to disagree with you: I’ve been reading all over the place that depriving yourself/denying a *strong* craving too long is liable to lead to binging. If chocolate chip cookies & ice cream for one night kept you from binging, so be it – it’s ONE night.

    I would totally go to a blogging conference if I were able to! I’ve encountered some amazing people through blogs, and I’d love to be able to meet them in person.

  2. #2 by Christy on February 3, 2010 - 4:07 am

    Hey there. Something I have learned from making the choice to go vegetarian is that I don’t have cravings like I used to now that I am paying more attention to the amount of protein I eat each day. I think maybe that would help you. I eat 15-30 grams of protein at each of the tree meals each day. And between those meals I try to have good snacks. Although I am not losing weight super fast I am still happy with my eating habits and feel satisfied.

    I don’t think I could manage with only a can of green beans for dinner. That would not fill me up. And I would be hungry again really fast.

  3. #3 by Diane Fit to the Finish on February 3, 2010 - 2:57 pm

    I have to admit that I have done that same thing on occasion. I certainly wouldn’t recommend it every night!

    I think you should go to the FitBloggin’ conference. I’m sure it will be a lot of fun!! I almost went to Blissdom this weekend but didn’t have the $$.

Leave a Reply

