True Progress

Here’s what I’ve been struggling with in my mind lately.

Since I started this journey a year and a half ago, I knew I had two major problems that I needed to overcome (among a lot of other things). Diagnosing those problems was not the issue. One of my major obstacles is the “all-or-nothing” mentality that is somehow so deeply ingrained in my thinking. I still have a LOOONG way to go in really overcoming that, however, I can see that I have made some solid progress in the last year and a half. And I plan to make even more progress in the next year.

However, my next huge desire to snack all the time, especially on sweets. It’s kinda the opposite of a binging problem, but just a severe and destructive. I want to munch on something small every 15 minutes or so at my worst. All those calories really add up. My whole life that’s what I’ve done. Snack. Snack. Snack. Just a little bite. Just a little taste. Just a little bit! Ah! Before I know it, I’ve eaten the equivalent of two or three pieces of 600 calories per slice cake by just shaving off one little sliverine at a time. Definitely not good. Here’s the thing. I feel like, despite all my efforts, I haven’t really made progress is resolving the true root of the problem. I feel like I’ve just managed to band-aid it at times. And there have been many band-aid efforts. About 4 years ago, I completely fasted for three weeks (water only). Once, I completely gave up chocolate for 8 weeks. I had junk-free January in 2008 where I had absolutely NO sweets -none at all- for the entire month. At some point a little over a year ago, I completely gave up snacking altogether for a couple months. And I really did. But I was having to force myself through it the whole time. I really wanted it to be a lifestyle change and I at least thought I was approaching it with that mindset. And of course I’ve tried the moderation approach countless times. I feel like no matter what mindset and approach I’ve tried, I keep coming back and fighting the exact same battles hundreds of times – sometimes wining, sometimes losing, and sometimes doing more of one than the other.

What prompted this is reviewing my posts over the last couple weeks and seeing how many times I wrote something like, “Did really well today except for those snacks.” I mean, really, that should be the title of my blog. So I was considering what to do. Should I try a no snacking no matter what rule and force myself into that for a period of time? Should I give up eating meals so I can just plan a small snack every half hour or so? And then I read a post on Pudget’s blog (Guess What I Did Yesterday) about how she had made a lot of progress with here binge eating struggle.  And I’ve been reading her blog since she began it, and when I thought about it, I could really see just from reading her blog posts that she had made true progress. And I want to get that point with my snacking problem – to make some true progress!

So my question for all of you is: How do you make true progress (not just temporarily band aiding a problem)? Do you feel that you’ve truly overcome or made progress in any of your eating/weight issues?  Any advice?

  1. #1 by MamaBearJune on February 10, 2010 - 9:30 pm

    When I started journaling what I ate, it helped me curb extra snacking. And when I read the Flat Belly Diet book, it helped me get on a schedule of eating every four hours. I practically have to set a timer to remind myself to eat. It can help doing something that keeps your hands busy. One of my favorites is scrapbooking. 😉

  2. #2 by Lola on February 11, 2010 - 8:42 am

    Gosh this one is tough. I DON’T KNOW. I think you make true progress a little at a time. Think of it like a small snowball rolling down a hill that eventually becomes a GIANT ball coming at you.

    You change one small thing, maybe a rule that you will follow (for the rest of your life) where you don’t snack between breakfast and lunch or maybe after a certain time. It should be something that you can stick to…something attainable. Then add something else, then something else. Eventually, you’ll have all these sets of “new habits”. that are just your normality.

    Right now, snacking is your normal. You need to change your definition of your normal….

  3. #3 by Bottomless on February 14, 2010 - 6:33 am

    I journal too and that helps me, but I find the best way to not dive into anything is to keep it out the house. If I know I have snack-y typ food available I will eat it. I won;t be able to stop thinking about it. Now I buy what I need for my meals (meal planning helps with this so you don’t end up with things you didn’t need lying around) and I don’t keep anything else in the house. If you don;t have it, you can’t eat it.

Leave a Reply

