I’m on autopilot!

We’ll start with the bad news:

After writing about my major snacking problem last Wednesday, I did a lot of thinking. I want to really make a solid improvement in this area, so I came up with a plan. I’m going to focus on just one facet of my snacking problem for a period of 3-4 weeks or longer until I feel like I mostly have that down, and then I’ll focus on another facet (while still maintaining the good habit I developed from the first one and so on). Also, I’d like to start a paper journal where I write down just my unplanned snacks, when they where, and why I did that. That way I can get a better idea of what the real problem is.

So, I’ve started with tackling the as soon as I walk in the door of my home snacking. This, I knew, was a habit. It can happen anytime I arrive home, but is the worst as soon as I get home from work. I’ve been working all day, gone for many hours, and feel like I just need to relax. So the very first thing I do when I walk in the door is go straight to the kitchen (which is two feet from the door) and start munching on something. Then something else. I never sit down and eat – just grab something while standing. Calories eaten while standing don’t count, right? WRONG! It’s not uncommon for me to consume two, three, four, even five hundred calories on occasion.

I really didn’t not realize how much of a subconscious habit this was until today. First of all, when I came home I was very focused on other things rather than my plan not to snack. I had some work frustrations, and my husband had some work frustrations as well that he started telling me about as soon as I walked in the door. You might think this caused me to just forget about eating. Wrong! I completely without thinking grabbed a few crackers (like three Wheat Thins), a few chips (as in four), and a few chocolate chips. Then a little shaving of cake. Completely without thinking. Then I realized, “Oh, I’m not supposed to do this.” I just didn’t realize how automatic it was for me. So it’s good that I’m working on it and I’ll need to focus even more to overcome it.

The good news, however, is that following all this (not-so-great day, was extremely tired all day, ate way too much, feeling discouraged) I didn’t even think twice about heading to the Y to workout. I just did it. If it had been six weeks ago, I would have had this huge battle with myself about whether or not I should go, and would likely end up talking myself out of it. So, you see, good habits can be on autopilot, too. We just need to set our autopilot in the right direction! (Easier said than done.)

By the way, had a great workout – step class, which is my favorite. No stats for today – didn’t log cause I really don’t know how much I ate. I would guess 2500 calories, burned 500 working out, so came out about even. Tomorrow I’m super committed to logging all my foods and actually having a good eating day.

  1. #1 by Alexandra on February 18, 2010 - 10:52 am

    I think that one of the biggest parts of this process is awareness of what we’re putting in our mouths. So you’re going in a good direction! 🙂

  2. #2 by biz319 on February 18, 2010 - 12:21 pm

    That sounds like a great plan! I too need to set my autopilot in the right direction – we can do this!!

    Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

