Do I sound like a broken record?

Sorry I’ve been MIA. Haven’t done so well the last few day. Exercise not so bad, eating not so good. I need to recommit. Does that sound like a broken record? It does to me. That’s about the way I’ve started my last several posts, which have been few and far between, in case you haven’t noticed.

Anyone, one thing is crystal clear here: something isn’t working. Something needs to change.

So I’ve made a decision, I think, although I have to admit I’ve done a lot of going back and forth on this one.

I’m officially joining Weight Watchers! Tomorrow morning I’ll be going to a meeting. Been thinking about this one for a while and it just feels like the right time. But here’s the thing: I fully realize this isn’t the “answer” to my fundamental problem. There is no weight loss plan or program on the planet for any amount of money that can possiby “fix” my eating problems. No plan that will keep me motivated all the time. That will give the confidence I need. Only I can do that. No plan that will make chocolate taste bad and celery sticks taste good. If there was such a plan, I’d be perfectly skinny already and so would Oprah.

Okay, so we’ve established that this isn’t really the “answer.” It won’t be magic. So why do I think it’s a good idea?

  • This is something I have not done in a quite a while (I was in WW for a few months about 4 years ago.), and so it feels like a fresh start. I really need that. I really do.
  • I really think that “official” ness of going to the meetings and having someone weigh me in will help me stay accountable. And I think the newness of the whole thing will give me at least an initial boost of commitment and motivation. And I need something. I do realize that will eventually wear off. Last year about this time, I joined a Biggest Loser contest that really, really gave the boost I needed. The boost didnt’ last forever but I can’t imagine where I’d be without it.
  • I’m ready for the simplicity of the points thing and the simple, written food journal. The calorie counting does seem to be working so well. The problem is that I have this need to be so exact with the calories. The other problem is that I’m counting those calories on my computer program, so often I’m not at my computer until the very end of the day when I’ve already eaten everything. It’s hard to remember everything, and often I feel like, “What’s this gonna change or help? I’ve already eaten what I’ve eaten and it is what it is.” For the past few days, I’ve been taking a little index card with me in my purse and I’m able to journal on it as I go throughout the day. That is so much easier to keep up with.

Later this weekend, I’ll post letting you know how the first meeting went – it is scary to walk in all by yourself. You better keep me accountable to actually walk through those doors! I can see myself driving there and being too scared to go in!

And I’ll also tell you about my concerns and reservations.

  1. #1 by Sandra on March 20, 2010 - 8:03 am

    I am anxious to hear how the WW meeting goes this morning!

  2. #2 by biz319 on March 24, 2010 - 12:26 pm

    Hooray for recommitting! But I agree, it doesn’t matter if you do WW, Atkins, Seattle Sutton, until you realize and resolve the reasons why you eat, no one program will be the magic pill you are looking for.

    My suggestion? Take it one day at a time – string enough good days in a row and you’ll start seeing results!

    I’ll be your cheerleader! If you ever need to talk, I am at bdl319@gmail.com.

    We can do this!

  3. #3 by josie on March 24, 2010 - 12:33 pm

    Kudos for recognizing your problem and actively pursuing a way to fix it! I’m not officially on WW, but I have been following their points program for a week now and so far I LOVE IT. Good luck with this new journey!

Leave a Reply

