Week 1 Results

I’m very happy to report a loss for my first week on WW! Unfortunately it wasn’t a big loss but at least I didn’t suffer the embarrassment of a first week gain as I had feared. I lost .8 lbs. If I can follow that up this week with a solid 1.5 to 2 lb loss, I’ll feel good about it.

I did get a long workout yesterday – about 80 minutes on the elliptical, although not too intense.

Did fairly well eating wise yesterday. However, today was a completely different story. Started out very well. I actually slept in a lot more than I have in months – until 9:30! I needed it, though. By the time I got up and got my shower it was almost time for lunch, so I just ate what I considered lunch – an omelet with a can of green beans. The challenge came when a group of people went to eat at Cici’s (all you can eat pizza buffet) after church. I thought about not going, but I didn’t want to be antisocial and my husband wanted to go. Cici’s does not post nutritional information (although you can certainly make some educated guesses). Also their food is fine, but nothing great, so I just hated to waste a whole lot of calories on it. It just would have taken a lot of calories for me to fill up on their pizza. I was hoping they would have some salad and I could just eat that. Well, they did, but they had nothing good to put on it (no cheese, no meats, I don’t like dressing at all), so I just got a huge plate of lettuce. I ate one bite of the lettuce, but plain lettuce just isn’t good. So I didn’t eat anything else – waste of money, but at least it was only $3.99. Next time I’ll know just not to eat at all so we don’t have to pay for me. Anyway, I have to admit, I was feeling a little sorry for myself, because all the other skinny people I was with could eat however much pizza they wanted without worrying about it and without gaining any weight. I know, it’s a bad attitude that doesn’t help me at all, but every once in a while I just start feel the frustration. So, by the time I got home from the restaurant, it was 5pm, I had 18 points left for the day, and I was all set for an awesome day food wise. So, what did I do?

I notice the very, very, very high calorie leftover cake that I made yesterday because we were having company over for dinner. It was in a tupperware container on the counter. And I say to myself, “Oh, I’ll just go have one bite.” Of course one bite turned into another and another and another and so on. Of course, I never actually ate a whole piece of cake, because I took the edge of each piece of cake, so it felt like I was eating much less than I was. And, of course, I walked away from it and then went back to it a couple minutes later again saying “just one bite” that turned into many. (Didn’t I learn something the first time.) By the time all was said and done, I was left with a bunch of completely butchered pieces of cake, and I had no way of even knowing how much cake I had eaten, but I think it was a lot because I had been hungry and wasn’t hungry at all any more. I was so, so, so mad at myself, because I should have known better. This is what I’ve done a thousand times to completely ruin my weight loss efforts. I did throw the rest of the cake in the trash, because I know the husband won’t eat it, and I sure don’t need it. Instead of completely throwing in the towel, I took a guess that I had eaten a quarter of the entire cake (again, wild guess, could be more, could be less), logged it in my food journal (33 points, or 1500 calories, yikes!), and moved on. Well tried to move on. It’s still really, really bugging me and I’m still so mad at myself. I wish I could take it back. And I so should have known better and all the warning signs were there! I really do need to move on, though, because continuing to be mad and frustrated and feeling hopeless will only make it harder for me to stay on track the rest of this week. By the way, I’ll need to be on my toes food-wise the rest of the week because today’s incident used up most of my flex points. Okay, so now I’ve put in my food journal, I’ve blogged about it, and, yes, I do feel badly about it, but I just need to forget about it and move on. I wish I could say I will use this experience to learn and I hope that I will and I plan to, but it’s happened 800 times before and I should have learned from all those times.

To leave you on a happier note, I made a new smoothie tonight that I was super tasty and I’m considering buying a really nice blender. Also, I’m super excited about this week’s menu plan. I’m going to try a new thing where I put tilapia with some seasoning and some frozen veggies in a foil packet and bake it in the oven.

  1. #1 by Emma on March 30, 2010 - 5:18 pm

    Here from the Healthy You Challenge – congrats on the loss. And a huge well done for admitting that you struggled, that’s a hard thing to do sometimes.

  2. #2 by Daisy Chain on April 1, 2010 - 8:12 pm

    Hey, good luck with your weightloss!
    I know how mean a cake sitting somewhere where you see it a lot can be, altho I’m in a totally different situation than you (I challenged myself not to eat chocolate for 46 days during lent – I’m at day 44 today, woho!). when I had a “cake problem” I just made it go out of my sight (I let my mate put it into the fridge). That helped a lot already.
    One idea I had for you (I don’t know if it’s a good one) was, that you might make something different the next time you have company for dinner. It doesn’t have to be cake. Maybe fruit salad? raspberries with dark chocolate? :).

  3. #3 by biz319 on April 7, 2010 - 11:21 am

    You should have had the pizza!! I never deprive myself from pizza – ever!

    What I would have done was taken 3 slices of pizza and then chopped up the lettuce and put it over the top for some extra crunch, sprinkled hot sauce on – then maybe the cake wouldn’t have been so tempting?

    I routinely eat around 500 calores EACH MEAL – which would be the equivalent to about 10 points – but it works with the exercise I do.

    So I leave you with this: EAT PIZZA!

    Hugs!

  4. #4 by Josie on April 12, 2010 - 11:25 pm

    Please don’t beat yourself up too bad about the cake…it’s done and all you can do now is move forward and learn from it. Congratulations on the week 1 loss! Keep it up girl!

  5. #5 by cheap backlinks service on June 23, 2013 - 4:36 pm

    Even if they want to buy a product or service eventually, they search for information first.

    This can be done for every specific store view also. Your market research must be for your real problem not for imaginary one.

Leave a Reply

