How to elliptical for 86 minutes!

So, do you wanna know the secret to how to keep going on the elliptical for 7.8 miles in 86 minutes without it seeming like a dreadful chore? That’s easy, get engrossed in an hour long TV show after you’ve already been on it for a few minutes! I really had only planned to workout for an hour, but I was watching a cake decorating contest on food network and really wanted to see the outcome. The calorie readout said 900, but they’re always high. I’m counting it as 700 calories. My batteries are almost dead in my Polar heart rate monitor. I’ve only had it for a year, and you can’t really replace the batteries. You would have to send it in to the company and have the original packaging and receipt and paying money and shipping. Bummer. And they cost about $85. So needless to say I didn’t use it today. Anybody know of a better brand that you can easily change the battery?
Also, my eating today was pretty much perfect!!! I fought the snacking urge and won! I did bring a couple snacks to work and ate those, but no other snacks. I also did snack on for “roasted” marshmallows (by broiling in the oven – delicious and under 100 calories!!) Still thinking about the stupid cherry almond cookie in the vending machine though. I did notice that there is only two left, so hopefully they’ll be gone soon, and they usually restock those with something different. I will confess, however, that I did almost give in a few times, and probably would have eaten it if it weren’t for the fact that I was worried my coworkers would notice me eating a cookie and think, “No wonder she has weight problems.”
Final stats for the day were 1181 cals eaten, 706 burned through exercise, for a net of 476 calories!! And I wasn’t even overly hungry. If only every day were like today! And for the record, before anyone thinks I’m going into starvation mode, I don’t purposely try for that low of net calories, and typically it’s not that low. My approach is to look more at my average calories for the week instead of worrying about each day. Some days are really low like today and others are much higher.

  1. #1 by Chibi Jeebs on May 20, 2010 - 9:07 pm

    “No wonder she has weight problems.”

    I worry about that FAR more than I care to admit… :-s

    Good on ya for the treadmill, though! That’s awesome! 🙂

  2. #2 by Karen@WaistingTime on May 21, 2010 - 7:20 am

    Good for you! I once went for 90 minutes when my husband and I were watching a good movie. Once. Having something to entertain me while on the elliptical makes a huge difference.

Leave a Reply

