Make It or Break It

Week 2 Results

I’ll get right to what I’m sure you’ve all been dying to know. How much did I lose in week 2? 1.8 pounds for a total 4 pounds! Awesome! This time my body has been cooperating with actually losing the weight, and it’s wonderful. I really think a lot of intense exercise really helps – even more than the calories burned would theoretically indicate. (Also, I’m sure I underestimate just to be on the safe side.)

Yes, Another Diet Disaster

Yes, readers, I’ve experienced yet another complete diet disaster today. This time it was a battle with Little Debbie. I’d like to say it was a fierce battle and I fought hard. But it wasn’t. It wasn’t even much of a fight. I was total wimp and just let Little Debbie take it out on me. But don’t worry, next time I’ll show her who’s boss. Anyway, yesterday I made a couple little mistakes, but nothing too bad, and came out about even calorie wise. Today all throughout the day, I did really well. Really well. Overcame an intense case of Monday morning munchies. No afternoon snacking. All was well. But it was a long day. Got off work later than usual and went straight to Target. Lost my brain for a moment and grabbed some Little Debbies along with all the ingredients needed for S’Mores that they had conveniently displayed together. So in the car on the way home I consumed two packages of Little Debbie cakes along with one Hershey bar. The Little Debbie packages were 310 cals each and the Hershey bar was 210 cals, for a total of 830 mindless, useless, non-filling calories that I didn’t even enjoy. I felt icky and unbelievably mad at myself for allowing 5 mins of weakness to ruin all the good I’d done during the day, which brings me to my next point.

The Make It or Break It Point

It’s now that I’m really at the make it or break it point, and tomorrow will be the most crucial day. I’ve been doing well for a couple, weeks – eating well, exercising, losing weight, all that good stuff. And today was the first day I did something really pretty bad eating wise. And the first day that I actually consumed more calories than I burned, resulting in a calorie surplus. This is, of course, discouraging. However, in the grand scheme of things, the 500 calorie surplus I had today isn’t a big deal. It won’t cause me to gain back the four pounds I’ve lost. It won’t prevent from having great calorie deficits the rest of the week and still having a weight loss this week. But, so often in the past I’ve let the discouragement I’m feeling over my mistake lead me to give up. That nasty all-or-nothing mentality. That “I’ve already ruined it, what’s the use trying?” thinking. But I won’t let that happen this time. Tomorrow I will pretend like today’s little incident never happened. And I won’t try to have a super humongous calorie deficit to make up for my mistake.

  1. #1 by Karen@WaistingTime on May 25, 2010 - 7:04 am

    That is great thinking! I too used to fall prey to the same mentality… I blew it already so why not blow it bigger! I am trying to change that. I think we need to learn that slips will likely happen and when we do, we need to immediately get back on track before the slip becomes a landslide. Sounds like you are well on your way:)

  2. #2 by Diane Fit to the Finish on May 25, 2010 - 3:32 pm

    It happens to all of us. And I used to just keep eating horribly when I made an error in eating. It was like a snowball rolling downhill – no getting it back up.

    You have a great attitude and that is what will keep moving you towards your goal!

  3. #3 by kyree90 on May 25, 2010 - 6:25 pm

    Congrats on the loss so far. And I like your attitude. It’s the one I try to have (but have been failing at lately).

  4. #4 by MamaBearJune on May 26, 2010 - 12:48 am

    Yep, tomorrow is another day. Keep making healthy choices. The rewards are worth it!

  5. #5 by Mary (A Merry Life) on June 10, 2010 - 8:10 pm

    That’s great, congrats on your loss! here’s the thing… you are going to have to eat well and exercise the rest of your life. It’s a long time. Make sure these little slip ups don’t become big things because in the end it’s consistency that matters. You can do it!

Leave a Reply

