Things are looking better

Well, I’m happy to see my first day back “on plan” went fairly well. I only had one questionable snack in the morning. I was extra exhausted all day and I just felt like I had to eat to stay awake. However, I really made sure that nothing else would satisfy me first. I came up with any excuse possible to get up from my desk and walk somewhere. I walked down to the cafeteria in another bldg and bought a Diet Pepsi (even though there’s a vending machine about 20 ft from me and cafeteria in my bldg. Anyway, I ended up eating animal crackers from vending machine (230 cals) and 4 things of Smarties (25 cals/each). I did a bootcamp class at the Y tonight, which is a killer class! A couple times I thought I just wouldn’t make it any further, but I did. Also, I did absolutely NO snacking except for the morning animal crackers & smarties. That is rare for me. And no dessert (unless you count the Smarties). Honestly, I think part of the reason that I didn’t struggle too much with snacking and dessert is that I was so tired. I came home and plopped right down on the couch instead of my usual looking for munchies in the kitchen. (But note that I did not stay on the couch. I got up and worked out.) And after dinner, I just didn’t even have the energy to think about dessert. Very rare for me. I have no idea why the unusual tiredness today, but it’s 9:35 pm, and I’m headed to bed as soon as I finish this post.

So here’s what I ate today:

Breakfast: Smart Ones Breakfast “Sandwich” thing – 240 cals, Pineapple/Strawberry Smoothie – 150 cals

Morning Snack: Animal Crackers – 230 cals, 4 pkgs of Smarties – 100 cals

Lunch: Turkey Burger on Wheat Bun w/ a small amount of American cheese – 420 cals (estimate, no nutrition info)

Dinner: Cheese toast (on 100 calorie Sandwich thin) – 220 cals; Green beans – 30 cals; 2 small pieces Melba toast – 25 cals

Workout: 60 mins for 500 cals burned

Total: 1415 cals eaten – 500 cals exercise = 915 net cals

Oh, and I really need to update the “About Me” page on my blog. It’s two years old from when I first started this journey and blog. Someone commented about me only eating 1200 calories a day like it said in the “About Me” page. Well, I totally don’t do that anymore especially with exercise. 1200 calories just wouldn’t be enough. I try to average 1400 – 1500 most days, with an occasional 2000 calorie day for a special occasion (which is definitely offset by a lot of exercise). But I don’t worry too much if one day I happen to go lower than 1400 cals as long as I’m not hungry and I’m eating healthy things.

  1. #1 by Writer In A Wheelchair on June 15, 2010 - 8:00 am

    Sounds like that’s a great restart. Well done for having such a good day. Wishing you luck for the coming week.

  2. #2 by Sam on June 15, 2010 - 12:49 pm

    Are you “crazylady”? I think you you are (not saying I think that you are actually crazy! :D) You left a post on my blog and I love your idea of posting on the person above you for HYC! I look forward to reading your blog and getting to know you better! Congrats on the fantastic workout, I bet that felt great to push through it!

Leave a Reply

