A couple bumps

It’s day 2, and I’ve already hit a couple bumps, but I’m ready to keep going.

I stupidly ate a dessert this morning when I had an extreme craving for chocolate. I just gave in. And it wasn’t even a dessert that I really liked. It was just okay. I just wanted chocolate – anything chocolate – and it was the only thing I could find. Set me back a little over 500 calories. As soon as I ate I felt awful about it. But I’m trying not get bogged down in the guilt and move on. But that’s hard. The guilt seems to find me. I did end the day at 1650 calories which isn’t too bad, so at least I didn’t do too much damage.

Secondly, I just simply could not get into my workout. I really tried. I put in an exercise DVD by Cathe called Imax2. Started it. Forced myself to get through the first ten minutes, but felt miserable and wasn’t really into it. So I tried another DVD – this time a fun step routine by Christi Taylor. The choreography was a bit complicated in that one, so I really struggled. Lasted 20 minutes and finally plopped down on the couch and just watched the complicated choreography. Turns out, sitting on the couch watching an DVD of people exercising doesn’t actually burn many calories. Bummer. My heart rate monitor said that I burned 160 cals over the half hour that I attempted to exercise. I’m not going to worry too much about it. I’ve been doing so well with exercise the last several weeks that one not-so-good today is nothing to get too worried about.

  1. #1 by karen on June 16, 2010 - 12:58 am

    Some days are definitely just harder than others. The past 24 hours have been like that for me, too, for no apparent reason … oh … aside from that lovely monthly visitor who should be knocking on my door any minute now. Dangit. LOL

  2. #2 by Diane Fit to the Finish on June 16, 2010 - 6:15 am

    You did get in 30 minutes of exercise and that’s great. It sounds like you really just needed to rest. Take care.

  3. #3 by Chibi Jeebs on June 16, 2010 - 5:59 pm

    I hate “eater’s remorse.” It sucks.

    As for the workout, you tried! Hell, you tried TWICE – that’s better than I would have done! Go, you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

