Surviving Social Events

First, I didn’t post yesterday, but don’t worry, it wasn’t a bad sign! I kept my food journal and actually photo-journaled! It was kinda fun and puts a different perspective on things when you can look back and literally see exactly what you ate. I might do it again every now and then. I was able to do it yesterday because I work from home on Tuesdays and Thursdays so no one was around to see me looking crazy photographing my food. So here’s the journal:

Breakfast: 1 egg/2 whites scrambled, half an Arnold Sandwhich thin w/ half an ounce of mozz cheese toasted, an apple with half a serving of dip: 315 calories total (Can you believe all that food is just 315 calories. Those same calories would get me 1 and a half unfilling poptarts.)

315 Calories

Lunch: Homemade Chocolate hot lava cake with one serving vanilla ice cream (I’ll comment later on this): 555 calories

555 Calories

Dinner: Smart Ones Chicken Marinara Flatbread, 290 calories

290 Calories

Snacks: 8 chocolate chips, 1 small Fuji apple (not pictured), 1/4 of Arnold sandwich thin toasted with melted choc chips on top (not pictured), 207 calories total

35 calories

Totals:1368 cals eaten
480 cals burned for 60 minutes on elliptical

Okay, yes, I know that the hot lava cake for lunch was not healthy. I do not plan to do that on a regular basis, but I was so, so, so craving chocolate and that was better than eating a regular lunch and then constantly wandering into the kitchen for a few chocolate cihps.

I’ve done fairly well eating wise so far today (it’s about 5 pm Friday). However, in a few minutes my husband and I are going to another couple’s house for dinner. And I can’t even begin to tell you what a challenge that is for me when I’m trying to eat well and track my calories. I really hate that I have to worry so much about the food instead of just relaxing and having fun, you know? I know this isn’t good, but it’s true. They invited us over several days ago, and the first thing I thought was, “Oh no, I’m doing so well with my eating. How am I going to handle this situation?” I long for the day when I can be at a healthy weight and not have the healthiness level of the food be the very first thing that pops into my mind when someone invites me over for dinner. It’s really hard in a situation where there just a few people, because what you eat is very noticeable. And you have no way of controlling what is served or know how many calories are in it or how they prepared it. So frustrating. I’m going to try my best to simply eat a moderate amount of whatever is being served, and not think about it or worry about it. Worrying about it won’t do me one bit of good. I’ll let you know how it goes.

  1. #1 by karen on June 19, 2010 - 1:05 am

    So glad I’m not the only one who feels it really is far safer to have dessert for lunch or dinner sometimes! For me it’s typically ice cream with maybe a brownie (or two). Mmmmmm!
    Sunday we’re going to Tom’s sisters for a cookout for Father’s Day. No way to plan in advance for it so I totally know how you feel there, too! Hope the dinner went well & you had fun!

  2. #2 by Karen@WaistingTime on June 19, 2010 - 9:41 am

    OMG – I soooo know how you feel! I long for that day too. I hope you have fun tonight and will be eager to hear how it went. We have a surprise party today and I suspect I will have my own food challenges there.

  3. #3 by Sandra on June 22, 2010 - 9:32 pm

    The photos add new dimension to your blog. Hope it keeps going well for you.

Leave a Reply

