I think I need to break up with Sugar…

I haven’t actually written a post since last Friday. Luckily, my absence from the blog world does not mean I was absent from my weight loss efforts (at least not entirely).

When I lasted posted I was heading to a friend’s house for dinner. The dinner went fine, and I didn’t have to consume too many calories, although certainly a few more than I would have if I were eating at home. I think I did a decent job of not stressing about it while I was there, although I did catch myself a couple times trying to find ways to determine exactly what the casserole we were eating was made of so I could more accurately estimate the calorie content. But I caught it and stopped myself. When I got home, I estimated as best I could and  then moved on.  But now, I’m faced with yet another situation this coming Saturday where the food being served is not in control. And, again, I’m trying my best not to worry about it, but it’s hard. The lady hosting the gathering told me we were having spaghetti and meatballs, and this is what went through my head: “I wonder if she’ll use 160 calorie per serving Prego or if she’ll use a more tomato based marinara with around 60 calories per serving. And what type of meat will she use? She doesn’t seem like the type of person who would buy the cheapest, most fatty type of ground beef, but I doubt she’d be the most expensive, 90% fat free stuff either. And in meatballs the fat is not going to cook out and be drained off, so the fat content of the beef will make a huge difference.” Seriously, why can’t I just enjoy the company, eat the food, and not think twice?

Anyway, the weekend went fine eating and exercise wise for the most part. However, getting to the title of my post, I did eat waaay too many sweets. I just have such a sweet tooth. If someone told me I’d never eat another fried food the rest of my life, it wouldn’t bother me in the least. But if someone told me I could never have chocolate again, I’d be  heartbroken. I bought this innocent little teeny-tiny 100 calorie ice cream sandwiches thinking I’ll just have one for a little treat every now and then. Who was I kidding? One teeny little ice cream sandwich. How is that enough? Of course, eating one simply made me want another one. And so it went. By the time the day ended on Sunday, my calorie counts alone were just fine. I think I ate about 1800 calories and burned around 400 through exercise, for a net of 1400. Perfectly fine there. However, 90% of those calories were from total and absolute nearly pure junk in the form of sweets. I do not consider that a success. The only actually healthy thing I ate was a grilled chicken salad for lunch worth about 260 calories. Every single one of the other 1540 calories were from junk food. I’m a firm believer in the calorie is a calorie is a calorie no matter where it comes from philosophy. Of course I would lose weight eating like that every day, but it would be so unhealthy. I would still feel awful about my eating, and it’s really teetering on the edge of control. I was relying on sole willpower not to eat another couple sweets that would have sent those calories soaring. I, of course, asked myself what caused that behavior. I had done so well for a week. In some ways I think I was a little tired of the healthy foods. A salad or an omelet just didn’t sound all that great to me. I was almost burnt out on the healthy foods. Some would say that it’s the right the time to have a small amount of something you really want. So I did. But honestly that just made me want more of the unhealthy stuff. So that’s why I’m considering trying to go a week or so without any sweets at all. What do you think?

  1. #1 by Sam on June 24, 2010 - 11:18 am

    I think it’s all about moderation. There have been several times that I have done no-sweets challenges, and I always do really good… until it’s over. And then it’s a free for all and all that hard work goes out the window. I’ve learned that if I allow myself a treat each day (small treat), I can stay on course. And on the weekends, I allow myself a bigger treat. If you want to do the no sweets thing, I think that’s cool. Just beware that at the end you could go crazy and plan on how NOT to do that, otherwise, it was all in vain. As for the speg. dinner, I do that too. Just remember your portions and to listen to your body. You’ll get through just fine!!

  2. #2 by Karen@WaistingTime on June 24, 2010 - 2:12 pm

    I love sweets too. But I finally decided I love being thin more! In the past, I could sometimes handle moderation. If I wanted M&Ms I would have them for dinner. End of story. But in recent years I have never been able to stop at one Skinny Cow ice cream sandwich or one 100-calorie cookie pack. I hope to someday live a life where moderation is part of it. But for me now, I am actually happier and find it easier to not eat the stuff that so cries out to me. I miss it less the longer I go without. HOWEVER, I think when I do eat it will be at social events:)

    That said, everyone is different. I think based on what you said you feel that it would be a great experiment to go without for a week (or maybe two… shudder) to see what happens. Can’t wait to hear what you do!

  3. #3 by Me on June 25, 2010 - 3:57 pm

    I enjoy sweets as well, but have sometimes found that it IS easier to eat NONE that to try to eat just a LITTLE. After all, what defines a little. AND, when you give it up, your body does become more adjusted to not having it and the cravings become fewer. I have also found that when I do not eat healthy foods, my body continually craves something, and I keep eating junk to try to satisfy it. BUT that never works. Just continue to make and more good choices and fewer and fewer bad choices. You can do it–go a week w/o any desserts, then if you must eat one small one, then go two weeks w/o, etc.
    Fruits and veggies in their most natural state are essential!
    I believe in you!!

  4. #4 by Diane Fit to the Finish on June 25, 2010 - 8:17 pm

    I have mixed feelings about it to be honest. I definitely support anyone and everyone who is going sugar-free. But I just wonder if it can be sustained forever. Maybe it’s enough to break the cycle that so many of us, me included, fall into.

    I try to be realistic with myself. I have a brownie or cookie on occasion and I think I would start to feel deprived if I said I was never going to eat refined sugar again. But maybe that’s because I’m weak.

    You can tell from this long comment that I am musing all of this over in my mind.

    I hope you have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

