Week 2 Results

Are you ready to hear my results from “Week 2”? (I’m not sure why I even number weeks anymore with as many times as I’ve restarted. Maybe everything should just be “Week 1.”) I lost 0.0 pounds this week. I stayed exactly the same. Given how much I struggled with the sweets and how I cut back some on the length of my workouts, that’s really what I expected. I’m a little disappointed that I didn’t work harder last week, because I really have no excuse. There’s no good reason why I should have struggled so much.

This weekend I’d say I had my fair share of really good food decisions along with my fair share of “learning opportunities” (aka mistakes). Again, all basically evening out to eating maintenance calories. Saturday I did face a lot of challenges because I was at someone’s house throughout most of the day and it was full of sweet snacks and lots of people snacking. I brought a bag of apples and ate one each time I wanted to eat a brownie or cookie. The apples were very small. They probably had 60-80 calories each. I think I had 4, so I had 280 calories worth – less than even one brownie! And we all know that I would never have eat just one brownie. I did give in to some sweet bread near the end of the day because I was so truly hungry and I was sick of apples. So from that I learned that I should have eaten more healthy, filling foods before I left my house so I wouldn’t be so hungry. And I mean we’re talking starting to get a hunger headache type of hungry.

We went out to eat at Arby’s with a group of friends on Sunday. I had a junior roast beef sandwich (less than 300 calories and only $1). Then I brought some sliced apples from home. I just put them in a ziploc bag and stuck it in my purse. That actually worked out really well. Far less calories than curly fries and much more satisfying. It would have been a great eating day if I had not snuck in some ice cream when I had the late night munchies. Again, it seems like a made a good decision followed by a not-so-great one. I thought good decisions were supposed to fuel more good decisions.

Alright, now I need to vent a little about a conversation I had with my husband this weekend. First of all, he is 5’7″ and weighs about 130 lbs which is technically “underweight” according to most height/weight charts. And he eats a ton of junk food. I’m talking a root beer float every single night using 1/4 carton of ice cream (as in a normal size carton lasts him for only 4 floats) with a can of regular root beer. Not only that, but he’s actually lost 3-4 lbs in the past few months. How is that even possible? He really must have some crazy metabolism. (Everyone says it will catch up to him someday, and I’m sure it will someday.) Anyway, I an accept all that. I’ve made no effort to try to change his eating habits, nor do I think I should. And with as many sweets as I eat, I really wouldn’t have any room to talk at all. The only difference is all the sweets I eat make me very overweight and I’m really trying not to eat so many sweets. So anyway, that is not my complaint. I just wanted to give you a little background.

When went to our friends house on Saturday for a meal, I had offered to bring a dessert. So I made brownies and took them to our friend’s house. There were a lot of other sweets there, but over half the pan was eaten. I had really hoped to give the remaining brownies away, so I wouldn’t have to bring them home to tempt me. However, my husband really liked the brownies. He said he wanted to take the rest of them home with us. I said I really didn’t want them in our house to be tempting me so maybe we should try to give them away, and if we couldn’t maybe we should throw them away when we got home. He was horrified at that idea and said, “Well, you just need self control. It’s easy. If you don’t want to eat them, just don’t eat them.” I said nothing because we were at the friend’s house and I didn’t want to get into a big discussion or have anyone overhear us. But I was thinking, “If it really were easy not to eat them, I wouldn’t have this weight problem!”  I think he really truly believes that it would not be difficult to decide you shouldn’t eat something and just not eat it. And maybe, theoretically, it should be easy. Maybe, it would be easy for most people. I really don’t know. But the truth is, whether it should or shouldn’t be, it is very, very hard for me. I know I should probably talk to him about it, but I really don’t want to. It’s such an sensitive topic that I always get very emotional when I try talk about it, and I turn it into a bigger deal than I really wanted it to be.

  1. #1 by Karen@WaistingTime on June 29, 2010 - 4:41 pm

    How perfectly timed was your story with my post! My hubby does need to lose… but still brings in the crap. Sigh. BTW – I LOVE Arbys. Sounds like you had some great eating success.

  2. #2 by Samantha on June 29, 2010 - 5:01 pm

    I feel like I have restarted about a million times too!

    And my husband eats crap and never gains either, so annoying. lol

  3. #3 by Chibi Jeebs on June 29, 2010 - 5:39 pm

    Oooooh! *scowls* As you said, it’s NOT that simple, and if it were, NO ONE would be overweight. There can be a lot more involved than simply “not eating,” and reducing it to that is selling you short.

    You’ve said that you think you should talk to him about it, but worry about getting emotional: would writing a letter/email work? I know it probably seems cheesy, but it might give him a little insight while removing the emotion-factor for you – at least that way, he’s aware of the situation if you DO want to talk about it further.

    It IS tough to talk about without getting emotional, especially with someone who thinks you should just be able to “stop.” *hugs*

  4. #4 by Diane Fit to the Finish on June 29, 2010 - 10:08 pm

    It is very complicated isn’t it? My husband was supportive, but he also needed to lose weight when I did. I think talking with him is a great idea. If it makes you feel better there are still things I won’t have in the house because I know I will be tempted to eat them. Even after all this time. I’ve always slightly envied people like your husband who have no emotional attachment to food. It would make life easier for sure.

  5. #5 by Roberta on July 27, 2010 - 7:20 am

    Hey,

    I’ve just randomly stumbled upon your blog and have gotten so much identification with your relationship with food that I’ve felt compelled to write to you.

    I struggled with exactly the same issues for a decade of my life – food was all consuming, my inability to exercise will power around what I ate was non-existent and I followed the same/up down pattern which you describe so well.

    Today I have a complete different relationship with food. I’m currently sitting at my desk with chocolate in front of me which was given to me for my birthday a couple of months ago, there are biscuits in the kitchen which I don’t have the compulsion to eat and food occupies my head space – really only when I’m hungry or am about to eat!

    I’d like to share my journey with you around this stuff if you’re interested? But would rather send you an e-mail than create a massive entry here.

    Know that you are soooo not alone with this stuff.

    Roberta

Leave a Reply

