How do you choose?

Well, first off, thank you all so much for all the comments and encouragement. I feel much more inspired and confident!

I only have time for a super quick update today, because I need to get myself to bed very soon.

Here’s the thing about doing it all. I have known for quite some time that I absolutely cannot do it all. There’s now way I can accomplish everything that I’d really like to, and I have accepted that. I’m perfectly fine with that – I don’t even try to do it all. (Did you notice how strict calorie counting and meal planning were NOT a part of my plan?) Here’s what I’m having a harder time accepting: I can’t do even as much as 10% of what I’d like to do. I can rarely accomplish even 60% of what I think that I can. And I can’t do half as much as others around me are doing. That’s what is so hard to accept. When several things are super important to me, how do I choose among them?

Tonight I had to choose between spending a little time with my good friends (which I think is important and something we all need, and I’ve been feeling more of a need for that lately), my workout, or my sleep! I could only pick two – it would be physically impossible to have all three. What would you choose? No matter what decision I made, I still feel like I didn’t quite win,  you know? I tried my hardest to fit it all in, but it didn’t work. There’s only 24 hours in a day.

Other than that, I’m still feeling positive, and I did really well with my eating today. It was both relatively low calorie and super healthy and high protein. I had hoped to photojournal my foods, but kept forgetting. Hopefully I’ll remember tomorrow. I thought it might be fun to post my food photos on here every once in a while. I also tried a new, super healthy, high protein, tasty, quick, and easy breakfast recipe that I can’t wait to share with you all!

  1. #1 by Karen@WaistingTime on April 14, 2011 - 8:45 am

    Glad to hear you are feeling good:)

  2. #2 by Aunt Cindy Y on April 14, 2011 - 8:26 pm

    Hey Laura Jane,
    I hear you! I’m cheering for you and working on my own plan. I have gained back some of what I lost before we had the fun girls weekend at your place. That all or nothing mind set was one change I worked on while I attended Weight Watchers. What a relief to realize it did NOT have to all or nothing. It could be oops… get back on track now, A little off track is better than being completely derailed.

  3. #3 by Diane Fit to the Finish on April 14, 2011 - 8:49 pm

    It’s so important to learn that balance, and it’s something I continually struggle/work on. Sometimes I’ve got it okay, but other times – not so much. It sounds like you are in a good place.

  4. #4 by Sarah on April 15, 2011 - 3:45 am

    Doesn’t it stick that we can’t stretch the day out and make it longer?! The good news is there’s 365 days in a year and we can always do what we missed today another day. Finding that balance is something I’m struggling with too.

    Keep up that positive attitude!

    PS – Food pics are fun!

  5. #5 by biz319 on April 15, 2011 - 11:24 am

    It is hard to balance it all – it helps that my commute is only 10 minutes – when I worked in downtown Chicago my commute was 70 minutes ONE WAY!

    Hang in there – and happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

