Thursday Update

It’s Thursday (well, technically I’m writing this at 6am on Friday morning, but writing with the perspective of having written it last night), and I’m happy to report, this is day 4 of healthy living! I know I’m still experiencing that newness feeling and the real test will be how I’m doing 4 weeks, 4 months, even 4 years from today, but all I can do now is make the right decisions for today.

It’s been revolutionary for me to simply plan NOT to strictly count calories or meticulously food journal. Really, it feels so liberating! I’m completely on plan even without counting things. It feels much more manageable. Now, I fully except to food journal and count calories at some point in the future once I’ve built up some confidence and hope, so I still think that’s a wonderful tool. Also, after many years of calorie counting I have a very good idea about how many calories different foods have, and I’m still doing some quick mental tracking of my calories. I even did track my calories on myfitnesspal on Monday, and Friday I’m photo journaling. So I haven’t completely abandoned the concept of calories. Also, I have significantly changed what/how much I’m eating which is, of course, the essential part of weight loss. Regardless of how you do it, if you have a significant amount of weight to lose, you have to make significant eating changes. We all know that (but so often seem to conveniently forget that fact when we see chocolate).

I have been focusing these week on making sure I get enough sleep. That means my goal is to be in bed by 9:30pm, then the husband and I do our Bible reading, and I can be asleep or very close to it by 10pm. It’s amazing how much better I feel when I’m getting enough sleep. I woke up this morning feeling SO refreshed!! My body simply does not do well at all when I have a sporadic sleeping schedule. I get awful, awful spells of EXTREME tiredness randomly throughout the day. And I’m talking I LITERALLY have to hold my eyes open while sitting at my desk at work to avoid falling asleep. Also, I have to pull over to the side of the road on my 45 minute commute to/from work, because I’m so tired. This just isn’t good. And the number one thing that takes away my motivation, resolve, willpower, self-control, and the like is being tired. Plus I find myself eating literally to stay awake. Now, you might think that I’m getting four hours of sleep a night or something when I’m so tired. Not so. I function like that on 6 hours of sleep, or simply an inconsistent sleep pattern (like going to bed at 9 one night and 11 the next). I get so frustrated with my body’s sleep requirements, but life is so much better when I work with those needs instead of trying to fight them.

I did a very intense workout today – Imax 2! Whew, I could only do it on the step platform (no risers), and even though I couldn’t keep up at all, BUT I was completely working hard, and I’m sure I blasted off quite a few calories. Frustratingly, I’ve lost my $120 heart rate monitor, so I have to settle for the perceived exertion test!! I’m going to have to tear down the house in search of the monitor this weekend.

Do you find that feeling rested really helps you stay strong against the food temptations?

  1. #1 by Karen on April 15, 2011 - 1:32 pm

    Good for you! So many things to feel good about:)

  2. #2 by Lisa on April 15, 2011 - 8:58 pm

    You are doing awesome! I always find it’s those few days into something new that it’s the hardest, So you are doing incredible.

Leave a Reply

