Weekend Update

Here’s a quick weekend update. Overall, everything went well on the healthy eating front. I still feel like I’m on track and ready to face and conquer the challenges the new week will bring! And I’m excited to report my week one weigh-in results tomorrow! If you’re new here, here’s the post where I talked about my healthy living plan.

Saturday was a dreary and rainy day. I got up, ate a quick and very small breakfast hoping to head right out to the Y for a workout. Well, for some reason, I was feeling completely unmotivated and really enjoying having a day with nothing urgent on the agenda, so I “lolligagged” (as my grandma would say) and accomplished next to nothing for a couple hours, before I finally pushed myself out the door around 11 am. By that time, having had only one egg and it being almost lunchtime, I was quite hungry. This meant that I was a bit lightheaded so I couldn’t work out very intensely, but I still walked for 45 minutes which is definitely something. In retrospect I should have immediately gone to the Y after eating breakfast, and if I didn’t do that, I should have taken the time to eat a real lunch before going. Lesson learned for next time.

IMG_0484

The rest of Saturday was spent accomplishing a monstrous to-do list, and I’m thrilled to report that my husband actually accomplished well over half the items on the list!

 

 

 

 

Saturday evening I made some sugar cookies at the husband’s request and managed to stay out of them and the dough. This morning I finished baking the cookies and am sad to say I did eat a bit of the dough and one cookie. I didn’t go crazy or anything, but, really, while the sugar cookie was good, it isn’t something I LOVE and wasn’t worth the calories.

This evening we 4 friends over for ice cream complete with brownies, several times of cookies, several types of candy, hot fudge, etc. This is what I what my kitchen table looked like a couple hours ago:

IMG_0479IMG_0480

What’s a healthy girl supposed to do in this situation!!?? Well, I thought through it carefully and made a careful plan of attack. I figured I had three options:

  1. Of course, I could simply not eat the delicious hot fudge sundaes (perhaps eating some sort of alternate healthy snack) while watching all my (perfectly skinny) friends consume them. Pros: I would save a few hundred calories. Cons: Um, how would you like to watch everyone else eat your favorite food? After years of off-and-on dieting (and therefore many similar situations in which I did NOT eat any of the sweets), I well knew that I would feel pretty miserable about this decision and would still be thinking about the sundaes in the morning. Not a good option!
  2. I could say “Well, this healthy living thing is just too hard, so I’ll just give up and start eating whatever I want.” Wait, that’s in direct conflict with Goal #3! That’s certainly not an option.
  3. I could enjoy one sundae of a moderate, but satisfying size tonight with my friends, then ask my husband to remove all the goodies (which he’s very good about accommodating me in that) from the house, so I would only consume one sundae. I think one or two treats per week is reasonable and certainly a drastic improvement over what I’ve been eating in the past. I also realized that I had been eating 4 little chocolate pieces almost daily . While that is a moderate amount, that’s 150 calories a day, or  1050 calories a week – more than the calories in my sundae! So I made a deal with myself: for the rest of the week I will only have ONE chocolate piece per day. Nice comprise, don’t you think? I feel great about my decision, and you guys will have to hold me to the one chocolate piece per day goal, okay???

IMG_0483

Oh, and I’m not sure if this breaks “healthy blogging rules”, but here’s a picture of my sundae. Definitely worth the calories.

  1. #1 by Julie on April 17, 2011 - 10:10 pm

    Sheer genius! Seriously! I agree with all your reason and your decision. Moderation is the key! Good job, friend!

  2. #2 by Diane Fit to the Finish on April 17, 2011 - 10:24 pm

    It sounds like you are really staying in control of everything – very good job!

  3. #3 by Sandra on April 17, 2011 - 10:30 pm

    Well, you certainly are thinking this through. I think I would have made the same decision about a “small” brownie/sundae so I wouldn’t feel anti-social and left out.

Leave a Reply

